Ministerial role

Government Whip, Comptroller of HM Household


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Mel Stride MP

    • 2016 to 2017
  2. The Rt Hon Gavin Barwell

    • 2015 to 2016