Ministerial role

Assistant Government Whip


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Current role holder: Leo Docherty

Leo Docherty was appointed as an Assistant Government Whip on 29 July 2019.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Julian Smith

    • 2015 to 2016