Ministerial role

Assistant Whip


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Previous holders of this role

  1. Harriett Baldwin MP

    • 2014 to 2014
  2. John Penrose

    • 2013 to 2014
  3. The Rt Hon Nicky Morgan

    • 2012 to 2013