Infrastructure Exports: UK (IE:UK)

IE:UK brings together companies of all sizes as a single ‘Team UK’ consortia to bid for global infrastructure contracts and deliver complex projects by combining their expertise.

The Department for International Trade (DIT) is partnering with 18 of the UK’s leading infrastructure firms to help UK companies secure major international contracts. The industry led body will pursue infrastructure projects with government support.

Terms of reference for IE:UK

The purpose of IE: UK is to increase UK infrastructure exports and identify gaps in the supply chain for foreign direct investment (FDI) to fill.

IE:UK supports UK exporters by:

  • selecting, and targeting, projects and markets
  • participating in, and helping form UK partnership models, such as consortia, to deliver identified projects
  • scoping new markets to shape new opportunities and decide on prioritisation
  • creating an innovative capability demonstrator that highlights UK expertise in the sector
  • identifying gaps in the existing UK supply chain to support the goal of a comprehensive UK offer and bring in FDI

It decides:

  • which projects to pursue
  • how to bring smaller companies into the infrastructure export supply chain

Each project develops its own workstream.

Workstream membership will be open to the UK supply chain.

DIT supports IE:UK with its network of local staff in 108 markets. They identify important projects in their areas for IE:UK consideration.

Funding and support for IE:UK

IE:UK’s work will be supported by a government funded project management office. All activities will be co-resourced between industry and government.

IE:UK meeting dates

IE:UK meets 3 times a year. It is co-chaired by the Minister of State for Investment, Graham Stuart, and a senior industry representative, Sir James Wates CBE, Chair of Wates Group.

IE:UK board

The companies making up IE:UK represent around 200,000 employees from across the UK. They have experience of working on large scale projects such as:

  • Crossrail
  • Dubai World Expo 2020
  • France’s ITER fusion reactor

Current board members are:

  • Graham Stuart MP, Minister of State for Investment at the Department for International Trade (co-Chair)
  • Sir James Wates CBE, Chairman, Wates Group Ltd (co-Chair)

  • Sir John Armitt CBE, Chair, National Infrastructure Commission
  • Martin Bellamy, Executive Director, BAM Nuttall
  • Philip Bouverat, Director, JCB
  • Graham Cartledge CBE, Chairman, Benoy
  • Stephen Crisp, Director International Government Relations, Pearson
  • Martin Darbyshire, Chief Executive Officer, Tangerine Design Consultancy
  • Clare Francis, Chief Executive Officer UK, Standard Chartered
  • Philip Hoare, Chief Executive Officer, UK and Europe, Atkins
  • Mark Holmes, Chief Operating Officer, Consultancy, Mace
  • Caroline Miller Smith, Partner, White and Case LLP
  • Sir Terry Morgan CBE, Chairman, Crossrail International Ltd
  • Freddie Patterson, Business Development Director, Lagan Construction Group
  • Dan Saville, Director, Infrastructure Sector Leader UK, India, Middle East and Africa (UKIMEA) region, Arup
  • Stuart Senior, Main Board, Gleeds
  • Tom Cargill, Chief Executive, British Expertise International
  • James Stewart, Vice-chair, KPMG
  • Gordon Turley, Major Projects Director, Mott MacDonald

Contact details