Commission on Assessment Without Levels

An independent group of education experts supporting schools to develop new approaches to assessment following the removal of levels.

The Commission on Assessment Without Levels met to:

  • identify and share best practice in assessment with schools across England
  • ensure schools have the information to choose effective assessment systems
  • highlight the work that is already being done in many schools
  • help to foster innovation and success in assessment practice more widely

The statement of intended outputs (PDF, 80.6KB, 2 pages) explains what work the commission aimed to produce.

The terms of reference (PDF, 84.1KB, 2 pages) sets out the commission’s responsibilities and ways of working.


The commission concluded by publishing a final report.

A government response is also available.


DfE announced the commission members on 9 March 2015. The announcement included biographical information.

John McIntosh, CBE, chaired the commission. Additional members were:

  • Shahed Ahmed, Elmhurst Primary School
  • Daisy Christodoulou, Ark
  • Professor Robert Coe, Durham University and the Centre for Evaluation and Monitoring
  • Sam Freedman, Teach First
  • Mark Neild, Sir Isaac Newton Sixth Form
  • Natalie Packer, National Association for Special Educational Needs
  • Dame Alison Peacock, The Wroxham Teaching School

The commission also included representatives from both Ofsted and Ofqual.

Meeting dates

The commission met between March and July 2015.

Contact details