Anti-Muslim Hatred Working Group

The Working Group was established to consider and take forward proposals to tackle anti-Muslim hatred. The Working Group is the government’s main forum for discussing issues of concern with Muslim stakeholders and the communities whose interests they represent and convey. It also plays a valuable role in both disseminating and providing feedback on key policy messages and approaches.


The cross-government Anti-Muslim Hatred Working Group is made up of representatives from Muslim communities, independent experts, and academics who are known as independent members, alongside ex-officio members.

It also consists of the following government departments:

  • Attorney General’s Office
  • Cabinet Office
  • Crown Prosecution Service
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
  • Department for Education
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office
  • Home Office
  • Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government
  • Ministry of Justice

and the National Police Chiefs’ Council

Terms of reference

Anti-Muslim Hatred Working Group Terms of Reference (PDF, 117KB, 3 pages)

Contact details