British High Commission New Delhi

Shantipath, Chanakyapuri
New Delhi 110021
India

For enquiries that are not about consular issues, email web.newdelhi@fco.gov.uk

Office hours

Monday-Friday: 0900-1700 hrs

Monday-Friday: 0900-1500 hrs (Consular phone enquiries)

Monday-Friday: 0930-1230 hrs (Consular counter hours)

VFS in Delhi

Public holidays

Our offices will be closed for the following public holidays in 2019:

Date Event
Tuesday 01 January New Year’s Day
Thursday 21 March Holi
Friday 19 April Good Friday
Monday 22 April Easter Monday
Friday 24 May Queen’s Birthday Privilege Holiday*
Wednesday 05 June ld-ul-Fitr
Thursday 15 August Independence Day
Friday 16 August Raksha Bandhan
Wednesday 02 October Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday 08 October Dussehra
Monday 28 October Diwali (Deepavali)
Tuesday 12 November Guru Nanak’s Birthday
Wednesday 25 December Christmas
Thursday 26 December Boxing day

*All Civil Service staff receive a privilege holiday for the Queen’s Birthday allocated to either the Friday preceding or the Tuesday after the late May Bank Holiday (27th May 2019) (Spring Holiday).

Holidays that fall on Saturdays & Sundays have been excluded from this list.

Security regulations for visitors

No Weapons Policy

The British High Commission, New Delhi has a strict ‘No Weapons Policy’.

No weapons will be allowed onto the compound and there are no facilities to store such weapons. Any person attempting to bring a weapon onto the compound will be required to leave immediately.

Personal Items

The British High Commission does not have the facility to screen or hold large bags, rucksacks etc. Customers may bring in a bag no larger than a briefcase or ladies handbag, but should be aware that this will be subject to a search by a suitably qualified guard.

Photography & Filming

If you intend to film or photograph the British High Commission, please contact the main switchboard on +91 11 2419 2100 and ask to speak with the Press & Communications Group.

Parking

There are no public parking facilities at the British High Commission. Persons visiting the Visa or Consular offices are advised to seek alternative parking.