British Embassy Berne

Thunstrasse 50
3005 Berne
Switzerland

Use our contact form for consular enquiries including Brexit guidance, residency, healthcare and driving:
www.gov.uk/contact-consulate-berne

For enquiries that are not about consular issues, email info.berne@fco.gov.uk

Opening hours

Monday to Friday, 9:00 to 12:30 and 13:30 to 16:30

Consular hours

Monday to Friday, 9:00am to 12:00pm

Consular enquiries

Consular enquiries and enquiries regarding your personal situation as a UK national living in Switzerland after EU exit should be submitted via our contact form. Please note that visa questions will not be answered. Find more information on visa & immigration here.

Notarial services

Notarial services are by appointment only. Please follow this link for information on the notarial & documentary services we provide at the British Embassy in Berne, and how to make an appointment for these services.

2019 Public holidays

Tuesday 1 January New Year’s Day
Wednesday 2 January Saint Berchtold’s Day
Friday 19 April Good Friday
Monday 22 April Easter Monday
Monday 6 May Early May Bank Holiday
Monday 27 May Spring Bank Holiday
Thursday 30 May Ascension Day
Monday 10 June Whit Monday
Thursday 1 August Swiss National Day
Monday 27 August Summer Bank Holiday
Monday 25 November Onion Market (Zibelemärit)
Tuesday 24 December Christmas Eve
Wednesday 25 December Christmas Day
Thursday 26 December Boxing Day