Office access and opening times

On this page you will find information about disabled access to the British Embassy Beijing and our public holidays.

Disabled access

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and this Embassy are keen to ensure that their buildings and services are fully accessible to disabled members of the public. Wherever possible, we have made our buildings and services accessible. Sometimes however, this is not possible due to security or other restrictions. In these situations we will endeavour to provide a service or access to a building in an alternative way to ensure equality of access for disabled people. To assist disabled visitors, we have set out below details of disabled access at this Embassy. We hope this information is helpful.

General physical access

If you foresee requiring any assistance, please contact the person you’re visiting in advance of your visit so we can ensure that we are able to provide access for you.

  • Entrances: Disabled access exists to the Main building.
  • steps and staircases are clear and unobstructed
  • toilets: a disabled toilet is located in the Conference Room
  • floor coverings: floor coverings are safe and even
  • doors: if necessary, the security guards can assist in opening doors
  • lighting: adequate throughout
  • emergency/evacuation: procedures are in place to assist disabled persons in the event of emergency/evacuation
  • phones: accessible to wheelchair users

Office holidays

British Embassy Beijing: Public Holidays 2019

Date Public Holidays
Tuesday 1 January New Year
Monday 4 February Chinese New Year (Eve)
Tuesday 5 February Chinese New Year (Day)
Wednesday 6 February Chinese New Year
Friday 5 April Tomb Sweeping Day
Friday 19 April Good Friday
Monday 22 April Easter Monday
Wednesday 1 May Labour Day
Friday 13 September Mid-Autumn Festival
Tuesday 1 October Golden Week
Wednesday 2 October Golden Week
Thursday 3 October Golden Week
Wednesday 25 December Christmas Day
Thursday 26 December Boxing Day