2. Eligibility

There are 4 categories of low emission vehicles. The grant you can get depends on the category.

Category CO2 emissions Zero emission range Grant Maximum grant
1 Under 50g/km At least 70 miles 35% of cost £4,500
2 Under 50g/km 10 to 69 miles 35% of cost £2,500
3 50 to 75g/km At least 20 miles 35% of cost £2,500
Van Under 75g/km At least 10 miles 20% of cost £8,000

You can’t get a grant for second-hand vehicles, or category 2 or 3 vehicles with a recommended retail price of £60,000 and over.

The ‘zero emission range’ is the distance the vehicle can travel without producing any CO2 emissions.

The ‘cost’ is the full purchase price you pay for the basic vehicle - including number plates, vehicle excise duty and VAT. It doesn’t include delivery charges, the first registration fee or any optional extras.

Eligible category 1 vehicles

  • BMW i3
  • BYD e6
  • Citroen CZero
  • Ford Focus Electric
  • Kia Soul EV
  • Mahindra e20
  • Mercedes-Benz B-Class Electric Drive
  • Nissan e-NV200 (5-seater and 7-seater)
  • Nissan LEAF
  • Peugeot iON
  • Renault Fluence
  • Renault ZOE
  • Smart fortwo electric drive
  • Tesla Model S
  • Toyota Mirai
  • Volkswagen e-up!
  • Volkswagen e-Golf

Eligible category 2 vehicles

  • Audi A3 e-tron
  • BMW 225xe
  • BMW 330e
  • Mercedes-Benz C350 e (with 17 inch rear wheels)
  • Mitsubishi Outlander (except GX3h 4Work)
  • Toyota Prius Plug-in
  • Vauxhall Ampera
  • Volkswagen Golf GTE
  • Volkswagen Passat GTE
  • Volvo V60 D5 Twin Engine
  • Volvo V60 D6 Twin Engine
  • Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine

The Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine is only eligible if the cost and the recommended retail price of the variant you buy are both less than £60,000.

Eligible vans

  • BD Otomotiv eTraffic
  • BD Otomotiv eDucato
  • Citroen Berlingo
  • Daimler Mercedes-Benz Vito E-Cell
  • Mitsubishi Outlander GX3h 4Work
  • Nissan e-NV200 (cargo van)
  • Peugeot ePartner
  • Renault Kangoo ZE
  • Smith Electric Smith Edison

Ineligible vehicles

Category 2 or 3 vehicles with a recommended retail price over £60,000 aren’t eligible for a grant. This includes:

  • BMW i8 (category 2)
  • Mercedes-Benz S500 Hybrid (category 3)
  • Porsche Panamera S E-Hybrid (category 3)