Manual of Patent Practice

Section 90: Orders in Council as to convention countries

Sections (90.01 - 90.04) last updated: April 2015.

Section 90(1)
Her Majesty may with a view to the fulfilment of a treaty or international convention, arrangement or engagement, by Order in Council declare that any country specified in the Order is a convention country for the purposes of section 5 above.
Section 90(2)
Her Majesty may by Order in Council direct that any of the Channel Islands, any colony shall be taken to be a convention country for those purposes.
Section 90(3)
For the purposes of subsection (1) above every colony, protectorate, and territory subject to the authority or under the suzerainty of another country, and every territory administered by another country under the trusteeship system of the United Nations shall be taken to be a country in the case of which a declaration may be made under that subsection.


Any country may be declared a convention country by Order in Council, with the effect that priority may be claimed from an application made in or for that country (see 5.30). The making of a new Order is advertised in the Journal.


The following is a list of the countries which have been declared to be a convention country under the Patents (Convention Countries) Order 2007 (SI 2007 No. 276), which revoked the Patents (Convention Countries) Order 2006, and the Patents (Convention Countries) (Amendment) Order 2009 (SI 2009 No. 2746).

Albania Bahamas Bosnia and Herzegovina Cape Verde
Algeria Bahrain Botswana Central African Republic
Andorra Bangladesh Brazil Chad
Angola Barbados Brunei Darussalam Chile
and Barbuda
Belarus Bulgaria China
Argentina Belgium Burkina Faso Colombia
Armenia Belize Burundi Comoros
Australia Benin Cambodia Congo
Austria Bhutan Cameroon Congo
Azerbaijan Bolivia Canada Congo, Democratic Republic of the
Costa Rica Guinea Lebanon Netherlands
Côte d’Ivoire Guinea - Bissau Lesotho Netherlands Antilles
and Aruba
Croatia Guyana Liberia New Zealand, including the Cook Islands,
Niue and
Cuba Haiti Libyan Arab
Cyprus Holy See Liechtenstein Niger
Honduras Lithuania Nigeria
Denmark Hong Kong Luxembourg Norway
Djibouti Hungary Macao Oman
Dominica Iceland Macedonia,
Former Yugoslav
Republic of
India Madagascar Papua New Guinea
Ecuador Indonesia Malawi Paraguay
Egypt Iran, Islamic Republic of Malaysia Peru
El Salvador Iraq Maldives Philippines
Equatorial Guinea Ireland Mali Poland
Estonia Israel Malta Portugal
Faeroe Islands Italy Mauritania Romania
Fiji Jamaica Mauritius Russian Federation
Finland Japan Mexico Rwanda
all Overseas Departments
and Territories
Jordan Moldova, Republic of Qatar
Gabon Kazakhstan Monaco Saint Kitts and Nevis
Gambia Kenya Mongolia Saint Lucia
Georgia Korea,
People’s Republic
Montenegro Saint Vincent
and the Grenadines
Germany Korea, Republic of Morocco Samoa
Ghana Kuwait Mozambique San Marino
Greece Kyrgyzstan Myanmar Sao Tome and Principe
Grenada Lao People’s
Namibia Spain
Guatemala Latvia Nepal Sri Lanka
Saudi Arabia Sudan Tonga Uruguay
Senegal Suriname Togo Uzbekistan
Serbia Swaziland Trinidad and Tobago Venezuela
Seychelles Sweden Tunisia Vanuatu
Sierra Leone Switerland Turkey Vietnam
Singapore Syrian Arab
Turkmenistan Yemen
Slovakia Taiwan Uganda Zambia
Slovenia Tajikistan Ukraine Zimbabwe
Solomon Islands Tanzania,
Republic of
United Arab Emirates  
South Africa Thailand United States of America
(including Puerto Rico
and all territories and possessions)


The United Kingdom is not a convention country within the meaning of the Patents Act.


In s.90(2), “any colony” was originally followed by the words “or any British protectorate or protected state” which have been deleted by the Statute Law (Repeals) Act 1986 (c.12).