Non-executive director

Sir David Verey

Sir  David Verey



Sir David Verey started his working life at investment bankers Lazard Brothers in 1972, rising to Director in 1983 and Chairman from 1990 to 2001. He remains a Senior Adviser at Lazards but has also held positions on the board of Pearson plc (1996-2000), Cazenove (2001-2), Blackstone UK (2004-8), the Daily Mail and General Trust (2004-14) and LMS Capital plc (2009-12). He has been on the Board of Sofina SA since 2004 and became Chairman in 2014. He has also been a member of the Supervisory Board of Bank Gutmann since 2002.

Sir David has a strong interest in philanthropy, particularly arts philanthropy. He was on the Board of Tate from 1992 to 2004, serving as Chair from 1998-2003. He then chaired ArtFund from 2004-14. Since 2013 he has chaired the Advisory Committee on the Government Art Collection and in 2014 he joined the Board of the British Council. Sir David was knighted in the 2015 New Year Honours for services to arts philanthropy.

In 2010 Sir David Verey was invited to become the lead Non- Executive Director at DCMS by Lord Browne, who was charged with appointing non-executive Directors to strengthen commercial expertise across Government Departments.

In his capacity of lead NEBM, Sir David attends a number of Boards as well individual meetings with the Permanent Secretary and has also undertaken a review of Public Appointments.

Non-executive director

Our non-executive directors are senior figures from outside the department who bring a diverse mix of expertise and skills from across the public and private sector. They all:

  • give guidance and advice to DCMS leaders and ministers
  • support and challenge management on the department’s strategic direction
  • provide support in monitoring and reviewing progress