About us

We review new designs of coins, medals, seals and decorations and then recommend preferred designs to the government.


Our main priority is to promote ‘numismatic’ (ie the study of coins) art in the UK.

Who we are

We usually have around 12 members of the committee at any one time. The current chairman is Lord Waldegrave of North Hill.

Our members are appointed for 7-year terms, with the option to extend membership for another 3 years.

The committee usually meets 2 or 3 times a year in London. Members are not paid, but can claim expenses to attend meetings.

Our membership is regulated by the office of the Commissioner for Public Appointment.