Our governance

The board’s governance framework, board members, senior management and sub-committees.

Governance framework

The board provides leadership and direction, setting our strategic aims, values and standards. Its work is governed by the institute’s governance framework.

Our board members

  • Antony Jenkins (Chair)
  • Dr Katherine Barclay: Director, UK Skills, Worldwide R&D, Pfizer Ltd
  • Sir Gerry Berragan: Lieutenant General (retired) the army
  • Paul Cadman: HR Director, Walter Smith Fine Foods Ltd
  • Dame Fiona Kendrick: Chairperson and CEO, Nestle UK and Ireland
  • Dame Asha Khemka: Principal and Chief Executive, West Nottinghamshire College Group
  • Robin Millar CBE: Chairperson, Blue Raincoat Chrysalis Group
  • Toby Peyton-Jones: HR Director, Siemens UK and Northern Europe
  • Bev Robinson: Principal and Chief Executive, Blackpool and The Fylde College

Our senior management

  • Peter Lauener: Chief Executive
  • Mike Keoghan: Deputy Chief Executive Officer
  • Jonathan Mitchell: Deputy Director, Standards Development
  • Ana Osbourne: Deputy Director, Approvals
  • Jayne McCann: Deputy Director, Funding Policy
  • Alex Wilson: Deputy Director, Data Science
  • Nikki Christie: Deputy Director, Assessment
  • Helen Knee: Deputy Director, Corporate Effectiveness
  • Tony Singleton: Deputy Director, Set up and Finance
  • Richard Guy: Strategic Adviser

Our sub-committees

The board is establishing 4 committees:

  • approval and funding committee
  • quality assurance committee
  • audit and risk assurance committee
  • remuneration committee

The board is also setting up 3 advisory groups:

  • stakeholder reference panel
  • apprentice panel
  • apprenticeships quality improvement group ‘quality alliance’