Information about the Independent Reconfiguration Panel's members, meeting minutes and business reviews.


The Independent Reconfiguration Panel is chaired by Professor Sir Norman Williams.

The lay members are:

  • Diane Davies, an “experience of care” volunteer with the NHS Leadership Academy and with local health and social care initiatives in Sheffield
  • Tansi Harper, a former college principal and Chair of Northamptonshire STP Collaborative Stakeholder Forum
  • Graham Jagger, an independent consultant representing the public and patient perspective on healthcare services
  • Linn Phipps, an independent consultant with a specialist interest in patient and public engagement, effective health scrutiny by local government and addressing health inequalities
  • Suzanne Shale, an independent consultant in healthcare ethics, patient safety and healthcare leadership

The clinical members are:

  • Irfan Chaudry, a consultant in critical care medicine and Divisional Medical Director at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Anthony Schapira, a consultant neurologist and Head of the Department of Clinical and Movement Neurosciences at University College London
  • Miles Wagstaff, a consultant paediatrician and neonatologist at Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • x2 vacancy

The managerial members are:

  • Simon Morritt, Chief Executive of York Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Zoe Penn, Professional Standards lead, NHS London
  • Nick Relph, a former NHS chief executive, now Chair of Gloucestershire Carers Board and the Oxford Centre for Triple Value Healthcare
  • Michael Scott, a former NHS chief executive, now a trustee of a national fostering agency and a residential community for people with learning disabilities
  • Mark Taylor, former NHS chief officer, now a management consultant and coach to the NHS and non-executive director of North Norfolk Primary Care

Further information about members can be found in membership 02.10.20 (MS Word Document, 2.47MB).

Declarations of interest

IRP members are asked to declare publicly any private interests - both financial and non-financial - which may, or may be perceived to, conflict with public duties.

When deciding what to declare, members should consider whether a member of the public, acting reasonably, would consider that the interest in question might influence their words, actions or decisions.

The members’ declarations form a register of members’ interests, which is maintained by the IRP secretariat.

Minutes of IRP meetings

9 September 2020 (MS Word Document, 77KB)
8 July 2020 (MS Word Document, 75.5KB)
11 March 2020 (MS Word Document, 75KB)
26 November 2020 (MS Word Document, 76KB)
19 September 2020 (MS Word Document, 76.5KB)
18 July 2019 (MS Word Document, 76.5KB)
16 May 2019 (MS Word Document, 74.5KB)
21 March 2019 (MS Word Document, 77KB)
15 November 2018 (MS Word Document, 76.5KB)
20 September 2018 (MS Word Document, 76.5KB)
19 July 2018 (MS Word Document, 82.5KB)
15 March 2018 (MS Word Document, 73.5KB)
18 January 2018 (MS Word Document, 70KB)
16 November 2017 (MS Word Document, 74KB)
21 September 2017 (MS Word Document, 72.5KB)
20 July 2017 (MS Word Document, 67KB)
18 May 2017 (MS Word Document, 72KB)
19 January 2017 (MS Word Document, 72.5KB)
10 November 2016 (MS Word Document, 73.5KB)
8 September 2016 (MS Word Document, 69KB)
14 July 2016 (MS Word Document, 73.5KB)
10 March 2016 (MS Word Document, 73.5KB)
14 January 2016 (MS Word Document, 68KB)
10 September 2015 (MS Word Document, 67.5KB)
9 July 2015 (MS Word Document, 67KB)
14 May 2015 (MS Word Document, 66.5KB)
8 January 2015 (MS Word Document, 63.5KB)
13 November 2014 (MS Word Document, 62KB)
10 July 2014 (MS Word Document, 54.5KB)
8 May 2014 (MS Word Document, 69KB)
14 November 2013 (MS Word Document, 59.5KB)
12 September 2013 (MS Word Document, 55KB)
11 July 2013 (MS Word Document, 30.5KB)

Previous minutes can be found on the IRP pages on the National Archive.

Business reviews

2019-20 (PDF, 471KB, 20 pages)
2018-19 (PDF, 506KB, 21 pages)
2017-18 (PDF, 936KB, 24 pages)
2016-17 (PDF, 637KB, 20 pages)
2015-16 (PDF, 656KB, 19 pages)
2014-15 (PDF, 434KB, 20 pages)
2013-14 (PDF, 462KB, 24 pages)
2012-13 (PDF, 462KB, 23 pages)
2011-12 (PDF, 501KB, 24 pages)