Terms of reference

These are the standards we apply to our work.

GAD adheres to the standards set out below.

The Actuaries’ Code

The Actuaries’ Code sets overriding principles for all members of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries (IFoA). It’s the ethical Code of Conduct that all members of the IFoA must adhere to.

The Code has 6 principles:

  1. Integrity
  2. Competence and care
  3. Impartiality
  4. Compliance
  5. Speaking up
  6. Communication

The impartiality principle includes provisions related to conflicts of interest. At GAD, we follow the requirements of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries relating to conflicts of interest.

Quality Assurance Scheme

GAD is proud to be accredited under the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries’ Quality Assurance Scheme (QAS).

This is a voluntary accreditation scheme which recognises organisations’ commitments to quality actuarial work and the importance of the working environment.

The accreditation process includes an independent assessment visit. Organisations must demonstrate a commitment to meeting the QAS outcomes: professionalism, development and training, and organisational culture.

Technical Actuarial Standards

GAD’s UK work is produced in accordance with the Financial Reporting Council’s (FRC) Technical Actuarial Standards (TAS). The generic standard, TAS 100, applies to all work which meets the FRC’s definition of technical actuarial work. Additional TAS standards apply to specified areas of work, where the FRC has identified risks to the public interest.

At GAD, we seek to achieve a high standard in all our work. Even if not formally in scope, we work to the spirit of the TASs to help ensure the quality of our work.

Other actuarial standards

In addition, all work will comply with any other relevant standards including those issued by the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries and the Financial Reporting Council. Where we provide actuarial advice to clients based outside of the UK this will include complying with the requirements of any relevant local actuarial standards and guidance.

The Civil Service code

The Civil Service code sets out the standards of behaviour expected of civil servants.

Functional Standards

GAD has adopted the Government Functional Standards and these are embedded within our processes. Functional standards exist to create a coherent, effective and mutually understood way of doing business within government organisations and across organisational boundaries. The standards provide a stable basis for assurance, risk management and capability improvement.

Internal guidance

GAD also has internal guidance on specific areas, which is available on request.

Previous standards

Details of the standards we have previously applied to our work are available on request.