Our governance

Information on the Government Actuary's Department board and sub-committees.

Management board

The management board is responsible for our overall strategy. It ensures the appropriate management of the risks that face the department and takes decisions on key high level issues.


  • Martin Clarke - Government Actuary
  • Colin Wilson - Deputy Government Actuary
  • Sue Vivian - Head of Public Service Pensions
  • Stephen Humphrey - Head of Specialist Actuarial
  • John Ogden - Director of Finance and Operations
  • Wendy Dabinett - Director of Human Resources

The board includes 3 non-executive board members. The management board meets at least 8 times per year.

Audit and risk assurance committee

Our audit and risk assurance committee is chaired by a non-executive board member and reports directly to the Accounting Officer and the management board. The chair provides an annual report on the work of the audit and risk assurance committee to the accounting officer. The committee meets at least every 3 months.

Change board

The GAD Change Board (GCB) is a light touch overlay to the range of projects aimed at improving the way GAD works and improving its efficiency.

Support operations committee

The support operations committee (SOC) deals with administrative operational issues, including accommodation, environmental, information technology, security and information assurance.

Individual roles and responsibilities

Professional and technical matters are overseen by the Head of Technical & Professional who reports to the Deputy Government Actuary.

The Director of Human Resources is responsible for people issues, reporting directly to the Accounting Officer.