Members of the Building Regulations Advisory Committee (BRAC) are appointed by the Secretary of State for the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government (MHCLG).

Members are appointed on an independent voluntary basis to represent particular areas of expertise or experience. They are usually appointed for 2 or 3 years. There is no prescribed minimum or maximum number of members.


The current members are:


Neil Cooper – Chief Executive, MLM Group & Director, CIC Approved Inspector Management Board Ltd


Antony Burd – Head of Sector (Construction), British Standards Institution

Emma Clancy - Chief Executive Officer of Certsure LLP and Ascertiva Group

Gavin Dunn – Director of BREEAM (Building Research Establishment Environmental Assessment Method), Buildings Research Establishment

Julia Evans OBE - Chief Executive, Building Services Research & Information Association

Gary Ferrand – Assistant Chief Fire Officer, East Sussex Fire and Rescue Service

Rachel Smalley – President of the Access Association

Neil Smith – Head of Research and Innovation, National Housebuilding Council

Paul Timmins - Managing Director, Approved Inspector Services Ltd

Dr Hywel Davies –Technical Director, Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers

Lorna Stimson – LABC Deputy Managing Director

Michael Finn – Group Design and Technical Director, Barratt Developments PLC

Michael Sansom – Head of Building Control, Brighton and Hove City Council