Details of the Council's members and Assay Office representatives.

The British Hallmarking Council was set up under the Hallmarking Act 1973, and came into existence on 1 January 1974. The act requires that it is made up of between 16 and 19 members, 10 of whom are appointed by the Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.

Council members


Noel Hunter OBE is a Fellow of the Chartered Trading Standards Institute, the Royal Society of Arts and a member of the Institute of Consumer Affairs. He is also Vice President of the Chartered Trading Standards Institute and member of its board. He is Chairman of the Consumer Code for Home Builders and Chairman of the Myton Hospices and is an Independent member of Disciplinary Tribunal for National Association of Estate Agents. He is a former warden of the Birmingham Assay Office.


Sue Green works independently for the British Hallmarking Council. The Secretary is not a member of the council.

Appointees from the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Bryn Aldridge was the Director of Trading Standards and Veterinary Services of the City of London Corporation, the Registrar of the College of Fellows of the Trading Standards Institutes and a Board Member of the Hackney White Heat City Fringe Partnership.

Robert Grice is the former Chief Trading Standards Officer of Doncaster MBC, and is a Guardian of the Sheffield Assay Office.

Andrew Hinds is Director of F Hinds and has worked in the business full-time since 1989. He is also the vice chairman and board member of the National Association of Goldsmiths. He is a freeman of the Worshipful Company of Goldsmiths and Fellow of the Gemmological Association.

Helen O’Neill is a director of The PMC Studio Ltd, the distributor of Precious Metal Clay in the UK and Eire. Following a degree in European Business she worked in international marketing for 20 years in various industry sectors. Currently she is also National Committee Member of the British Jewellers’ Association (BJA).

John Pearce is the CEO and Creative Director of Johnny Rocket, a company which designs, manufacturers and retails high quality jewellery in Greenwich, London.

David Sanders is a former senior trading standards officer who has acted for various authorities.

Meeting minutes

The British Hallmarking Council meets twice a year, usually in April and October. Papers are available once the minutes have been agreed, which is usually after the following full meeting of the Council.

Assay Office representatives


Neil Carson is Chairman of the London Assay Office Board of Management.

Sir David Reddaway is Clerk of the Goldsmiths’ Company, London.


Simon Batiste is the Law Clerk of the Sheffield Office, and a barrister with Chambers in Leeds. He has a long family connection with hallmarking.


Kate Hartigan is a management accountant with extensive general management experience, and is also a trustee and treasurer of the Birmingham Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses.

Carol Brady is the Chairman of the Board of the Trading Standards Institute.

Co-opted members

Peter Hayes is Chairman of the Sheffield Assay Office. He is a chartered accountant and a main board director of OSL Group Holdings, with responsibility for its automotive divisions. He is also a director of Charterfields Limited, an international asset valuers headquartered in Sheffield.

John Stirling is a solicitor in Edinburgh.

Tom Murray is Deacon of the Incorporation of Goldsmiths in Edinburgh. He is also a solicitor in Edinburgh. He is a member of the Law Society of Scotland’s Investor Protection Committee, and is the Purse Bearer to the Lord High Commissioner. He has a long family connection with hallmarking.