Information about the members of the Animals in Science Committee and meeting minutes.


Dr John Landers, Honorary Fellow, Hertford College Oxford

Committee members

  • Ken Applebee, Director of Biological Services, Kings College London
  • Dr Donald Bruce, Managing Director, Edinethics Ltd.
  • Dr Hannah Clarke, Lecturer in Neuroscience, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Gail Davies, Professor in Human Geography, University of Exeter
  • Mrs Wendy Jarrett, Chief Executive, Understanding Animal Research
  • Professor Malcolm Macleod, Professor of Neurology and Translational Neuroscience, University of Edinburgh
  • Mr Barney Reed, Senior Scientific Manager, Research Animals Department, RSPCA
  • Dr Sally Robinson, Director of Laboratory Animal Science, AstraZeneca
  • Anna Rowland, Assistant Director of Policy, Business Transformation and Safeguarding, Fitness to Practice Directorate, General Medical Council (GMC)
  • Professor Clare Stanford, Academic Pharmacologist, University College London (UCL)
  • Dr Gerlinda Stoddart, Head of Science, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA)


Ken Applebee

Ken Applebee is a Fellow of the Institute of Animal Technology and director of biological services at King’s College London. Ken has over 30 years experience in biomedical science and research, which includes valuable experience as a professional animal technologist in a number of academic institutions. Ken is a long serving and active member of the council of the Institute of Animal Technology (IAT) and currently chair of council. Ken is also chair of trustees of the College of Laboratory Animal Science (CLAST) and trustee of the Animals in Science Education Trust (AS-ET).

Dr Donald Bruce

Donald Bruce is an ethicist in emerging technologies and creates tools for public engagement. He is managing director of Edinethics Ltd., and was previously director of the Society, Religion and Technology Project of the Church of Scotland, a research chemist in the nuclear industry and a government nuclear safety regulator. He has many years’ experience in the ethical aspects of animal research in agriculture and medicine, including GM and cloned animals, nanomedical applications, and alternatives to animals. He is currently the lay member of the Roslin Institute AWERB.

Dr Hannah Clarke

Hannah Clarke is a lecturer in neuroscience at the University of Cambridge. Her principal research interest is understanding the neurochemical and structural pathways that underlie the symptoms of psychiatric diseases such as depression and schizophrenia. She has particular expertise in primate neuroscience.

Professor Gail Davies

Professor Gail Davies is professor in human geography at the University of Exeter. Her academic research explores the changing geographies of science and technology, with specific reference to laboratory animals and biomedical research. She has long-term research interests in fostering innovative forms of public engagement with science and technology.

Wendy Jarrett

Wendy Jarrett is chief executive of Understanding Animal Research. She has over 25 years’ experience of science and health communication. Her work has included awareness programmes on the risk factors for heart disease, male cancers and a campaign to persuade the UK food industry to reduce the amount of salt added to products. Wendy led the development of the UK Concordat on Openness on Animal Research, which now has more than 100 signatories. She is a trustee of the Blood Pressure Research Trust and a vice president of the Institute of Animal Technology.

Dr John Landers

Dr John Landers was principal of Hertford College, Oxford where he is now an honorary fellow. He was previously a lecturer in biological anthropology at University College London and in historical demography at Oxford. His academic speciality is historical demography with particular reference to the history of infectious disease mortality.

Professor Malcolm Macleod

Professor Malcolm Macleod is professor in neurology and translational neuroscience at the University of Edinburgh and consultant neurologist at Forth Valley Royal Hospital. His clinical research includes trials of brain cooling for stroke. He has pioneered the use of systematic review and meta-analysis to analyse data from animal experiments in the neurosciences, and is a staunch advocate of improving experimental rigour and of evidence based clinical trial design.

Barney Reed

Barney Reed is a senior scientific manager in the research animals department of the Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (RSPCA). He is engaged in a range of initiatives involving individuals and organisations from animal welfare, government, academia and industry, both in the UK and internationally, aimed at promoting fuller implementation of the 3Rs and effective ethical review.

Dr Sally Robinson

Dr Sally Robinson is director of laboratory animal science at AstraZeneca UK based in Cheshire. Sally has over 25 years experience in biomedical science in the pharmaceutical industry. She is a toxicologist by training, with an established track record of implementing 3Rs initiatives particularly in safety assessment through collaboration across industry and with organisations such as the UK NC3Rs and regulators. Sally is currently the chair of the EFPIA research and animal welfare group.

Anna Rowland

Anna Rowland is assistant director of policy, business transformation and safeguarding, for fitness to practise directorate at the General Medical Council (GMC). She qualified as a solicitor, leaving the practice to specialise in legal policy. She has an extensive background in legal and medical policy having held senior policy positions at the Law Society prior to joining the GMC in 2008.

Professor Clare Stanford

Professor Clare Stanford trained as a physiologist at University College London (UCL) and Oxford. For over 30 years, her research interests have focussed on the importance of using naturalistic stimuli in laboratory animal science, especially when trying to explain the neurobiology of psychiatric disorders and their treatment. She is a past president of the British Association for Psychopharmacology and also of the Laboratory Animal Science Association and is currently professor Emeritus of Translational Neuropharmacology at UCL.

Dr Gerlinda Stoddart

Dr Gerlinda Stoddart, head of science for the People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA), gained her PhD from the Welsh School of Pharmacy in 2002 and has 7 years’ experience working in the research and development industry developing transdermal products. She is now the head of science for an animal protection organisation where she works with regulators, policy makers, industry and other scientists to reduce the use of animals in experiments, improve their welfare and promote animal-free research methods.


Previous minutes are available on the National Archives website.

Subgroup membership

Complete membership to ASC subgroups and task and finish group as at June 2017.

Project Licence Applications Subgroup

  • Dr John Landers (Chair)
  • Mr Ken Applebee
  • Dr Hannah Clarke
  • Professor Malcolm Macleod
  • Mr Barney Reed
  • Other ASC members attend subgroup meetings of their own volition

Terms of reference

Animal Welfare and Ethical Review Bodies Subgroup

  • Dr Sally Robinson (Chair)
  • Mr Ken Applebee
  • Dr Donald Bruce
  • Ms Wendy Jarrett
  • Dr John Landers
  • Professor Clare Stanford
  • Dr Gilly Stoddart
  • Dr Katherine Knight (ASRU Observer)

Terms of reference