Our governance

The roles, responsibilities and membership of our committees.

Main committee

ACCEA’s main committee establishes the criteria for assessing candidates and administers the process for judging nominations. It also advises on which NHS consultants and academic GPs should receive awards and provides quality control. Members of the main committee also sit on the platinum committee.


  • Dr Stuart Dollow, Chair
  • Dr Mary Armitage, Medical Director

Professional members

  • Professor Ian Greer, University of Liverpool
  • Professor Kevin Davies, Vice Chair of the South East Regional sub-committee
  • Professor Carrie MacEwen, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges

Lay members

  • Robert Bailey
  • Jane Kelly
  • Mary Elford

Employer members

  • Professor Graeme Dewhurst
  • Neil Dardis, Frimley NHS Trust
  • Dr William Harrop-Griffiths, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust

Ex-officio members

  • Dame Sally Davies, Chief Medical Officer
  • Simon Stevens, NHS England
  • Lee McDonough, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Gavin Larner, Director of Workforce
  • Professor Steve Powis, NHS England
  • Dr Andrew Goodall, Welsh Government
  • Duncan Selbie, Public Health England


Our sub-committees assess applications from consultants and academic GPs for new and renewal of national awards. They take account of recommendations from employers, national nominating bodies and specialist societies, and they submit their recommendations in priority order for consideration to the chairman and medical director of ACCEA.


ACCEA sub-committee members 2018 (PDF, 275KB, 14 pages)

ACCEA sub-committee members 2017 (MS Excel Spreadsheet, 51.6KB)


Read ACCEA meeting papers and minutes