Press release

Latest peerages announced

A list of the latest peerages bestowed by the Queen.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

The Queen has been graciously pleased to signify her intention of conferring Peerages of the United Kingdom for Life upon the undermentioned:

Working Peers list

Conservative Party

  • Tariq Ahmad - businessman and former Vice Chairman of the Conservative Party
  • Sir Robert Balchin DL -  Pro-Chancellor of Brunel University
  • Elizabeth Berridge - Director of the Conservative Christian Fellowship
  • Sir Michael Bishop CBE - career in civil aviation, Chairman of The Michael Bishop Foundation a charitable foundation
  • Alistair Cooke OBE - career in education, authorship and politics
  • Sir Patrick Cormack - former Conservative MP
  • Michael Dobbs - author, presenter and adviser to Margaret Thatcher and John Major
  • Robert Edmiston - businessman and charity campaigner
  • Sir Reg Empey OBE - Leader of the Ulster Unionist Party 2005 - 2010
  •  Andrew Feldman - businessman and Co-Chairman of the Conservative Party
  • Julian Fellowes DL - actor, novelist, film director and screenwriter
  • Stanley Fink - Chief Executive of International Standard Asset Management and Chairman of Earth Capital LLP.  Treasurer of the Conservative Party 
  • Howard Flight - career in finance; held various positions in Conservative Shadow Cabinet, Deputy Chairman of the Conservative Party 2004 -2005
  • David Gold - senior litigation partner at Herbert Smith LLP
  • Michael Grade CBE - past Chief Executive of Channel 4 Television and former Executive Chairman of ITV plc
  • Rachael Heyhoe-Flint OBE DL - past captain of England women’s cricket team, currently public relations and sports marketing consultant 
  • Anne Jenkin - charitable and political work for the Conservative Party
  • Sir Michael Lord - former Conservative MP and former Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons  
  • Rt Hon David Maclean - former Conservative MP; held a number of Ministerial posts; Opposition Chief Whip 2001 - 2005
  • George Magan - career in finance; former Conservative Party Treasurer and Deputy Chairman of the Conservative Party Foundation
  • Sir Bernard Ribeiro CBE FRCS - retired Consultant General Surgeon; member of the Health Policy Research Advisory Board of the American College of Surgeons
  • Fiona Shackleton LVO - lawyer specialising in family law 
  • Richard Spring - former Conservative MP
  • Tina Stowell MBE - former Head of BBC corporate Affairs; past Deputy Chief of Staff to William Hague as Leader of HM Opposition
  • Nicholas True CBE - past Deputy Head of the PM’s Policy Unit; former Private Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition in the House of Lords; Leader of Richmond Borough Council
  • Patience Wheatcroft - Editor-in-Chief of the Wall Street Journal Europe
  • Gordon Wasserman - internationally recognised expert on management of police forces

The Queen has also been graciously pleased to signify Her intention of conferring a Peerage of the United Kingdom for Life upon General Sir Richard Dannatt GCB CBE MC DL, Former Chief of the General Staff. Sir Richard has elected to sit on the cross benches.

Liberal Democrat Party

  • Dr Sarah (Sal) Brinton - Executive Director of the Association of Universities in the East of England
  • Dee Doocey OBE - Chair of the London Assembly
  • Qurban Hussain - Deputy Group Leader of the Liberal Democrat group on Luton Borough Council
  • Judith Jolly - Chair of Executive Committee of Liberal Democrats in Devon and Cornwall
  • Susan Kramer - former Liberal Democrat MP
  • Raj Loomba - businessman and campaigner for widows’ rights
  •  Jonathan Marks - commercial and family law QC with specialist interest in human rights and constitutional reform
  • Monroe Palmer OBE - Liberal Democrat Councillor and Chair of Liberal Democrat Friends of Israel
  • Jenny Randerson - Liberal Democrat Member of the National Assembly for Wales for Cardiff Central, former Minister in the Welsh Assembly Government
  • John Sharkey - Chairman of the Liberal Democrat 2010 General Election campaign
  • Nicol Stephen - Former Deputy First Minister of Scotland (2005 - 2007) and leader of the Scottish Liberal Democrats (2005 - 2008)
  • Ben Stoneham - Liberal Democrat HQ Operations Director
  • Mike Storey CBE - Primary School Head teacher, former Leader of Liverpool City Council, Liberal Democrat Councillor and former Lord Mayor of Liverpool;
  • Paul Strasburger - businessman and philanthropist 
  • Claire Tyler - Chief Executive of Relate

Labour Party

  • Dame Joan Bakewell DBE - writer and broadcaster
  • Ray Collins -  General Secretary of the Labour Party
  • Maurice Glasman - Senior Lecturer in political theory at London Metropolitan University and for his work with London Citizens
  • Jonathan Kestenbaum - businessman and Chief Executive of National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts
  • Oona King - Head of Diversity at Channel 4 Television and former Labour MP; currently journalist and presenter
  • Ruth Lister - Emeritus Professor of Social Policy at Loughbrough University
  • Eluned Morgan - former Labour MEP representing Mid and West Wales;  currently Honorary Distinguished Professor at Cardiff University and for her work on low carbon energy
  • Sir Gulam Noon MBE - Chairman and Founder of Noon Products and of the Noon Foundation
  • Stewart Wood - former Downing Street and HMT special adviser, lecturer at University of Oxford; previously Fellow of Magdalen College and co-founder of Nexus
  • Bryony Worthington - career focusing on promoting environmental and social change

Plaid Cymru

  • Rt Hon Dafydd Wigley - former Leader of Plaid Cymru; Honorary President of Plaid Cymru

The Prime Minister wishes to thank the out-going members of the House of Lords Appointment Commission The Rt Hon Lord Hurd of Westwell CH CBE, Lord Dholakia OBE DL and The Rt Hon Baroness Dean of Thornton-le-Fylde who have served with the highest standards of  integrity and objectivity. 

The Prime Minister welcomes the new members of the House of Lords Appointment Commission The Rt Hon Lord Howard of Lympne, Lord Hart of Chilton and Baroness Scott of Needham Market.

Notes to Editors

The House of Lords Appointments Commission has vetted all nominations for peerages announced today. The Commission is a non-statutory advisory body with responsibility for vetting nominations for life peers, including those nominated by the UK political parties, to ensure the highest standards of propriety. The Commission plays no part in assessing the suitability of those nominated by the political parties, which is a matter for the parties themselves. Its role is to advise the Prime Minister, having carried out a range of checks, if it has any concerns about the propriety of an individual.

The Commission also makes recommendations for non-party-political peerages. Further information on the work of the House of Lords Appointments Commission is available on

General Sir Richard Dannatt was nominated for a working Conservative Party peerage by the Prime Minster when he was Leader of the Opposition.  Sir Richard has elected to sit on the cross benches.

Updates to this page

Published 19 November 2010