News story

Deputy Prime Minister praises inaugural QE Prize winners

The Deputy Prime Minister attended a royal reception where the Queen recognised the 5 engineers widely credited with inventing the internet.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


Internet engineers Bob Kahn, Vint Cerf, Louis Pouzin, Sir Tim Berners-Lee and Marc Andreessen were awarded the inaugural Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering (QE Prize), a £1 million global award launched in 2011 by the Deputy Prime Minister, Prime Minister and Leader of the Opposition.

It rewards those whose groundbreaking engineering work has worldwide benefit to humanity.

Speaking about the engineers’ innovations, Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg said:

The first winners of the QE Prize remind us of the power of ideas. Their groundbreaking work transformed modern life. Today we recognise and celebrate their achievements - creating and building the internet and enabling us to explore the world wide web.

We also send a powerful message to budding and experienced engineers across Britain that if you’ve got the skills and good ideas, keep going. In the future, this prize could be yours. The sky’s the limit.

Published 25 June 2013