News story

Changes to the Audit Commission Board

The Department for Communities and Local Government has launched a recruitment process to find 3 new board commissioners.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


The terms of appointment for 7 commissioners comes to an end on 31 December 2012. The Secretary of State has taken the decision, with support from the chairman of the Audit Commission, to offer reappointment 4 of the existing board members, and a recruitment exercise has commenced to find 3 new members of the board.

The new commissioners will work alongside other board members to achieve an efficient and effective closedown and, in the lead up to closure, oversee the smaller Commission’s remaining duties and the transfer of continuing functions to other bodies. The full programme of reforms to local audit and inspection, and the closure of the Commission, will bring in a more localist approach and are expected to save £650 million in public money over the next 5 years.

Notes to editors

  1. The outgoing commissioners are Councillor David Williams, Tony Harris and Jennifer Dixon. Councillor Williams is the Liberal Democrat local government representative on the board and a replacement from the party will be recruited.

  2. The government published a draft bill in July 2012 to close the Commission and establish a new audit framework for public bodies. The Commission has already outsourced the work of its in-house audit practice and is becoming a much smaller organisation in the run-up to its closure.

  3. Details of the vacancies can be viewed on the [Public Appointments website]( “Public Appointments website).

Published 8 November 2012