Yorkshire Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (RFCC)

The Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (RFCC) is a committee established by the Environment Agency under the Flood and Water Management Act 2010 that brings together members appointed by Lead Local Flood Authorities (LLFAs) and independent members with relevant experience for 3 purposes:

  • to ensure there are coherent plans for identifying, communicating and managing flood and coastal erosion risks across catchments and shorelines
  • to encourage efficient, targeted and risk-based investment in flood and coastal erosion risk management that represents value for money and benefits local communities
  • to provide a link between the Environment Agency, LLFAs, other risk management authorities, and other relevant bodies to build understanding of flood and coastal erosion risks in its area


Members of the public and press are welcome to attend as observers. To attend a meeting or request copies of agendas and papers contact the Environment Agency by emailing yrfcc@environment-agency.gov.uk or call 0113 819 6992.

Meeting papers

Yorkshire Regional Flood and Coastal Committee agenda, combined meeting papers and technical appendix October 2018

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email yrfcc@environment-agency.gov.uk. Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.

These are the April 2018 meeting papers which include the appendices and draft minutes from January 2018.

Committee members

Member Organisation
Professor Colin Mellors (Chair) Defra appointee
Julie Gledhill Environment Agency appointee
Simon Keys Environment Agency appointee
Andy McLachlan Environment Agency appointee
John Riby Environment Agency appointee
Geoff Roberts Environment Agency appointee
Jeremy Walker Environment Agency appointee
Cllr Roy Miller Barnsley Council
Cllr Barry Collins Calderdale Council
Cllr Mike Ellis Bradford Metropolitan District Council
Cllr Garry Hickton Derbyshire County Council
Cllr Chris McGuinness Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council
Cllr Symon Fraser East Riding of Yorkshire Council
Cllr Cllr Darren Hale Hull City Council
Cllr Donald Firth Kirklees Council
Cllr Richard Lewis Leeds City Council
Cllr David Jeffels North Yorkshire County Council
Cllr David Sheppard Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council
Cllr Neal Gibson Sheffield City Council
Cllr Jessica Carrington Wakefield Council
Cllr Andrew Waller City of York Council

Contact details