Wessex Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (RFCC)

The Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (RFCC) is a committee established by the Environment Agency under the Flood and Water Management Act 2010 that brings together members appointed by Lead Local Flood Authorities (LLFAs) and independent members with relevant experience for 3 purposes:

  • to ensure there are coherent plans for identifying, communicating and managing flood and coastal erosion risks across catchments and shorelines
  • to encourage efficient, targeted and risk-based investment in flood and coastal erosion risk management that represents value for money and benefits local communities
  • to provide a link between the Environment Agency, LLFAs, other risk management authorities, and other relevant bodies to build understanding of flood and coastal erosion risks in its area



Following the Local Government Reform in Dorset, the composition of the Wessex Regional Flood and Coastal Committee has been varied in accordance with the Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (2011) Regulations. This variation has been approved by Thérèse Coffey, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and published below. A map of the area of the Committee can be found by following the above link.

The membership for the Committee is as follows:

Member Organisation
David Jenkins Chairman
Anthony Bradford Environment Agency appointee (general issues)
Rosie Dilke Environment Agency appointee (general issues)
Peter Finney MBE Environment Agency appointee (general issues)
Anne Fraser MBE Environment Agency appointee (general issues)
John Harris Environment Agency appointee (Inland flooding issues)
Helen Mann Environment Agency appointee (coastal processes)
David Martin Environment Agency appointee (water and utility companies)
Janette Ward Environment Agency appointee (nature, conservation & wider environmental issues)
Cllr David Wood Bath and North East Somerset Council
Cllr Felicity Rice Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council
Cllr Paul Goggin Bristol City Council
Cllr Mark Roberts Dorset Council
Cllr Phillip Awford Gloucestershire County Council
Cllr Jan Warwick Hampshire County Council
Cllr Bridget Petty North Somerset Council
Cllr David Hall Somerset County Council
Cllr Robert Griffin South Gloucestershire Council
Cllr Michael Hewitt Wiltshire Council

Chairmen of Coastal Groups invited to attend meetings (Not Voting Members)

Chairman Coastal Group
John Cocker Chairman, South West Coastal Group
John Buttivant Chairman, Severn Estuary Coastal Group
Lyall Cairns Chairman, Southern Coastal Group

Dates of meetings

  • 14 January 2020, The Guildhall, High Street, Bath BA1 5AW
  • 21 April 2020, venue and location to be confirmed
  • 21 July 2020, venue and location to be confirmed
  • 20 October 2020, venue and location to be confirmed


Wessex Regional Flood and Coastal Committee agenda and papers, 14 January 2020

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email wessexrfcc@environment-agency.gov.uk. Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.

Members of the public and press are welcome to attend as observers. To attend a meeting or request copies of agendas and papers email wessexrfcc@environment-agency.gov.uk or telephone 03708 506 506.

Contact details