Transforming Care Assurance Board

The Transforming Care Assurance Board has been set up to oversee the progress of commitments that were outlined in response to Winterbourne View across health and social care organisations.

The Board’s role is to take action and make sure progress is made on commitments in Transforming care: A national response to Winterbourne View Hospital and DH Winterbourne View Review Concordat: Programme of Action. The Board will help to make sure that everyone with an interest in the ‘Transforming Care’ programme, including self-advocates, family carers and voluntary organisations are actively involved in its work. It reports to the cross-government Learning Disability Programme Board.

Membership list

  • Rt Hon Alistair Burt MP, Co-Chair (Minister of State for Community and Social Care, Department of Health)
  • Scott Watkin, Co-Chair (self-advocate)
  • Jon Rouse (Department of Health)
  • Sarah McClinton (Department of Health)
  • Lyn Romeo (Department of Health)
  • Alison Alexander (Association of Directors of Children’s Services)
  • Marion Ingram (Association of Directors of Children’s Services)
  • Jonathan Hurley (National Forum of People with Learning Disabilities)
  • Viv Cooper (Challenging Behaviour Foundation)
  • Ann Earley (representing Winterbourne View families)
  • Professor Tony Holland (University of Cambridge)
  • Shaun Webster (self-advocate)
  • Beverley Dawkins (Challenging Behaviour, National Strategy Group)
  • Vicki Raphael (National Valuing Families Forum)


Read minutes and papers

Terms of Reference

Transforming Care Assurance Board terms of reference (PDF, 868KB, 6 pages)

Contact details