Thames Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (RFCC)

The Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (RFCC) is a committee established by the Environment Agency under the Flood and Water Management Act 2010 that brings together members appointed by Lead Local Flood Authorities (LLFAs) and independent members with relevant experience for 3 purposes:

  • to ensure there are coherent plans for identifying, communicating and managing flood and coastal erosion risks across catchments and shorelines
  • to encourage efficient, targeted and risk-based investment in flood and coastal erosion risk management that represents value for money and benefits local communities
  • to provide a link between the Environment Agency, LLFAs, other risk management authorities, and other relevant bodies to build understanding of flood and coastal erosion risks in its area



The members of the Thames RFCC are:

  • Chair: Robert Van De Noort
  • Steven Shuttleworth: independent member
  • Sarah McMath: independent member, Thames Water
  • Alastair Atkinson: independent member
  • Robert Oates: independent member
  • Andy Johnston: independent member
  • Valerie Owen: independent member
  • Phiala Mehring: independent member
  • Lindsey Ions: independent member
  • John Dora: independent member
  • Roland Grzybek: independent member
  • Peter Sims: independent member
  • TBC: London councils (west partnership)
  • Denise Scott-McDonald: London councils (south-east partnership)
  • Wesley Harcourt: London councils (central-north partnership)
  • Martin Elengorn: London councils (south-west partnership)
  • Syed Ghani: London councils (north-east partnership)
  • Richard Livingston: London councils (central-south partnership)
  • Daniel Anderson: London councils (north partnership)
  • Andrew Stevenson: Hertfordshire Lead Local Flood Authority
  • TBC: Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead Council
  • Yvonne Constance: Oxfordshire, Swindon, Wiltshire, Gloucestershire and Warwickshire Councils
  • Bill Chapple : Buckinghamshire, Slough, Luton / Nhants County Council
  • Mike Goodman: Surrey County Council
  • Simon Walsh: Essex and Thurrock Councils

Members of the public and press are welcome to attend as observers.

Meeting papers

Meeting papers for 12 October 2018 - Thames RFCC (PDF, 3.46MB, 185 pages)

Minutes of last meeting

Thames RFCC minutes: January 2018 (PDF, 121KB, 10 pages)


Thames RFCC periodic report: 2011 to 2017 (PDF, 2.04MB, 20 pages)

River Thames catchment: sharing learning from Natural Flood Management (PDF, 1.52MB, 23 pages)

Help plan the future: join your local flood and coastal committee

We are looking for new members to join the Thames Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (RFCC). The committee area stretches from Oxfordshire and Swindon to London and Essex, and from Buckinghamshire and Hertfordshire to Surrey and Hampshire, an area particularly vulnerable to the risks of flooding from multiple sources; rivers, tidal Thames, surface water, reservoirs and ground water.

The committee has an important role in deciding local priorities for flood risk management and ensuring a joined-up approach among partners. Members are involved in a wide range of work, from planning far ahead for the successor to the Thames Barrier to supporting rural communities in managing their local brook. Being a member of an RFCC is an exciting opportunity to play an important local role in guiding flood risk management activities within catchments and along the coast.

We are looking for several enthusiastic new members to help manage flood risk throughout the south east.

Applications are welcome from anybody with an active interest in flood risk management, from a diverse range of backgrounds, which might include interest or experience in housing, development, farming and planning experience from the private sector. The RFCC is also looking for representatives from local communities.

Our members are all appointed as impartial individuals in their own right and not as representatives of any particular organisation. We want to ensure our committees represent the communities we serve and we welcome applicants from all walks of life. We make all public appointments on merit, following a fair, open and transparent process.

If you are interested in helping to make a difference in your local area then do get in touch to find out more or request an application pack.

The closing date for applications is 2 July 2018 and interviews will take place on 10 August 2018.

Contact Karen Jouny for further information. Email: or call 07788 304608.

Contact details