Teacher workload advisory group

The group considered how to remove unnecessary workload associated with data and evidence collection in schools.

The group:

  • identified which assessment data schools do not need to collect
  • considered what creates the culture of excessive data collection in schools, including the role of school leaders, governors, parents, the Department for Education and Ofsted
  • took stock of existing actions to remove unnecessary workload related to data collection and evidence gathering
  • considered how educational technology (EdTech) can eliminate unnecessary workload associated with data collection, and how to mitigate the risk that technology increases teacher workload

Independent report and government response

The Teacher workload advisory group report ‘Making data work’ and the government’s response were published on 5 November 2018.

Terms of reference

Teacher workload advisory group terms of reference (PDF, 137KB, 2 pages)

Meeting dates

The group met 4 times between May and July 2018.


Professor Becky Allen (Chair) Director for new Centre for Education Improvement Science, UCL Institute of Education
Janine Ashman Deputy Headteacher, St Peter’s Church of England Primary School, Portishead
Geoff Barton General Secretary, Association of School and College Leaders (ASCL)
Nick Brook Deputy General Secretary, National Association of Head Teachers (NAHT)
Professor Rob Coe Professor of Education and Director of Centre for Evaluation and Monitoring, Durham University
Jo Facer Vice Principal, The Ebbsfleet Academy, Kent
Sean Harford HMI, National Director, Education, Ofsted
Mouhssin Ismail Principal, Newham Collegiate Sixth Form Centre
Paul Kett Director General, Education Standards, Department for Education
Andrew McCully Director General, Infrastructure and Funding, Department for Education
Rose Murphy Teacher and phase leader, St George’s Roman Catholic Primary School
Darren Northcott National Official (Education), National Association of Schoolmasters Union of Women Teachers (NASUWT)
Martin Post Regional Schools Commissioner for North West London and South Central England, Department for Education
Adrian Prandle Director of Economic Strategy and Negotiations, National Education Union (NEU)
Joanne Roscow Assistant Head and SENCO, Birchwood Community High School, Warrington
Michelle Thomas Executive Headteacher, New Wave Federation, London
Lauren Thorpe Head of Data & Systems Strategy, Ark
Ben White Teacher and Director of Curriculum, Highworth Grammar School, Kent

Contact details