Teacher Reference Group

The Teacher Reference Group advises on the potential impact of policies on primary and secondary education, including any barriers to implementation.

Terms of reference

The Teacher Reference Group supports policy development and implementation across the Department for Education (DfE) by contributing views and providing feedback to ministers and officials. The group is not representative and has no power of veto over policy decisions.

Meeting dates

The group meets 5 times per year, during term time.


Members of the Teacher Reference Group are classroom practitioners covering various regions of the country and types of school.

Current members of the Teacher Reference Group:

  • Madeline Black, Langford Primary School, London
  • Jessica Churchward, Parbold Douglas CofE Academy, North West
  • Georgia Clark, Didsbury High School, North West
  • Ellissa Drinkhill, St Catherine’s Catholic Primary School, Yorkshire and the Humber
  • Andrew Friend, South Farnham School, South East
  • Sophie Holmes, Chestnut Grove Academy, London
  • Sarah Jeffreys, Aylesbury High School, South East
  • Helen Lavery, Wensley Fold CofE Primary Academy, North West
  • Jenny Lewis, Normanton All Saints CE (aided) Infant School, Yorkshire and the Humber
  • Kieran McKevitt, Twyford CofE High School, London
  • Aaron Millward, Moorside Primary Academy, North West
  • Rahila Naguthney, Queen Mary’s Grammar School, West Midlands
  • Maud Sampson, Central Foundation Girls’ School, London
  • Claire Slade-Carter, Cowes Enterprise College, South East
  • Neil Starr, Granton Primary School, London
  • Ella Sutcliffe, Croftway Academy, North East
  • Jonathan Weir, Ellesmere Park High School, North West
  • Joseph Williams, St Martin’s Academy, North West