Standing Commission on Carers

The Standing Commission on Carers is an independent advisory body providing expert advice to ministers and the Carers Strategy Cross Government Board on progress in delivering the national carers strategy.

Role of group

The Standing Commission was established in December 2007. It identifies strategic challenges and opportunities associated with caring, paying particular regard to:

  • demographic changes
  • developments in public policy
  • changing relationships in families
  • equality and diversity
  • improvements in technology


  • Professor David Croisdale-Appleby, OBE Chair (Former Chair, Skills for Care & National Skills Academy for Social Care)
  • Anne Smyth, OBE Deputy Chair (Harrogate & Craven, Bradford & Airedale)
  • Gary Ames (Luton Clinical Commissioning Group)
  • Penny Banks
(Researcher on carers issues)
  • Beth Britton (Freelance Campaigner and Consultant)
  • Dr Helen Brown (Carers Trust, Cambridgeshire)
  • Francis Davis (Cathedral Innovation Centre)
  • Jenny Frank (The Children’s Society)
  • Dr Mary Larkin (The Open University)
  • Robina Mallett 
(Family Carers Hft)
  • Dr Alison Milne
(University of Kent)
  • Dawn O’Rooke 
(member of a Mental Health review tribunal)
  • Dr Robina Shah (Frenkel Topping PLC)
  • Katie Tempest

Co-opted members:

  • Melanie Henwood OBE (Independent Health and Social Care Research Consultant)
  • Philip Lewer (NHS Leeds South and East Clinical Commissioning Group)
  • Rita Ross (Barclays Bank)
  • Grainne Siggins (London Borough of Newham)

Code of Practice

Members code of practice (PDF, 65.1KB, 8 pages)


Terms of reference

Terms of reference (PDF, 15.4KB, 1 page)

Contact details