Southern Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (RFCC)

The Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (RFCC) is a committee established by the Environment Agency under the Flood and Water Management Act 2010 that brings together members appointed by Lead Local Flood Authorities (LLFAs) and independent members with relevant experience for 3 purposes:

  • to ensure there are coherent plans for identifying, communicating and managing flood and coastal erosion risks across catchments and shorelines
  • to encourage efficient, targeted and risk-based investment in flood and coastal erosion risk management that represents value for money and benefits local communities
  • to provide a link between the Environment Agency, LLFAs, other risk management authorities, and other relevant bodies to build understanding of flood and coastal erosion risks in its area


Dates of meetings

  • 22 September 2020
  • 20 October 2020
  • 27 January 2021


Southern RFCC agenda 21 July 2020 (PDF, 13.2KB, 1 page)


The members of the Southern RFCC are:

Member Organisation
Dr Martin Hurst Chair
Bill Symons Independent Member
Alison Thompson Independent Member
Alison Morse Independent Member, Conservation Lead
Bryan Curtis Independent Member, Coastal Lead
Simon Parker Southern Water
Cllr Jan Warwick Hampshire County Council
Cllr John Hobart Isle of Wight Council
Cllr Andrew Bowles Kent County Council
Cllr Tony Hills Kent County Council
Cllr Liz Hurst Kent County Council
Cllr Steve Leggett Southampton City Council
Cllr Hugh Mason Portsmouth City Council
Cllr Amy Heley Brighton and Hove City Council
Cllr Barry Kemp Medway Council
Cllr Claire Dowling East Sussex County Council
Cllr Kevin Borham West Sussex County Council
Cllr Pieter Montyn West Sussex County Council
Cllr Geraldene Lucia-Hennis London Borough of Bexley
Mr Colin Tandy Independent Member
Dr Anthony Kimber Independent Member
Mr David Goff Independent Member
Mr David Lowsley Independent Member


Members of the public and press are welcome to attend as observers. To attend a meeting or request copies of agendas and papers contact Jo Matthews at the Environment Agency at

Mrs Jo Matthews
Guildbourne House
Chatsworth Road
West Sussex
BN11 1LD

Annual report

To obtain a copy of the 2018-19 Southern RFCC annual report please email

Contact details