Regenerative Medicine Expert Group

The Regenerative Medicine Expert Group (RMEG) is an expert group formed for the development and delivery of Regenerative Medicines to the NHS.

Role of the Group

The remit of the Regenerative Medicine Expert Group (RMEG) is to develop an NHS regenerative medicine strategy so that the NHS is fully prepared to deliver these innovative treatments and also assess the effect of regulation on the development of Regenerative Medicines in the UK.


  • Professor Sir Michael Rawlins (Chair)
  • Mr Keith Thompson (Cell Therapy Catapult)
  • Mr James Palmer (NHS England)
  • Professor Carole Longson (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence)
  • Ms Lynda Hamlyn (NHS Blood & Transplant)
  • Professor Marc Turner (Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service)
  • Dr Stephen Field, Welsh Blood Service
  • Mr Steve Bates (UK BioIndustry Association)
  • Professor Chris Mason (UK BioIndustry Association)
  • Mr Michael Hunt (ReNeuron)
  • Dr Louise Leong (Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry)
  • Dr Ruth McKernan (Pfizer)
  • Professor Fiona Watt (King’s College London)
  • Professor David Williams (Loughborough University)
  • Professor Robin Ali (Academy of Medical Sciences)
  • Professor Charles ffrench-Constant (University of Edinburgh)
  • Dr Ian Hudson (Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency)
  • Dr Janet Wisely (Health Research Authority)
  • Dr Alan Clamp (Human Tissue Authority)
  • Mr Peter Thompson (Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority)
  • Ms Sharmila Nebhrajani (Association of Medical Research Charities)
  • Mr Nick Rijke (Multiple Sclerosis Society)
  • Air Marshal Paul Evans (Ministry of Defence)

Government department observers

  • Department of Health
  • Department for Business, Innovation and Skills – Dr David Griffiths-Johnson
  • Scottish Government
  • Welsh Government
  • Northern Ireland Executive


Read minutes from the Regenerative Medicine Expert Group meetings

Terms of reference

Terms of Reference (PDF, 16.8KB, 1 page)


Regenerative Medicine Expert Group
Room 107
Health Science and Bioethics Division
Department of Health
79 Whitehall

Contact details