Open Standards Board

The Open Standards Board works with the Cabinet Office and is accountable for transparent selection and implementation of open standards.

Terms of Reference

The Open Standards Board was set up by the Public Expenditure Committee (Efficiency Reform) (PEX(ER)). The Cabinet Office, advised by an Open Standards Board, will use the open standards process to set open standards for use by all of government.

Transparency and fairness are maintained by making sure that:

  • anyone can get involved in conversations about open standards
  • there will be no preference given to any supplier in the outcome
  • there is regular recruitment for new volunteers for the Open Standards Board

The Open Standards Board’s aims are to:

  • consider open standards recommendations that relate to software interoperability, data and document formats
  • consider and come to a consensus on whether a recommended standard should be adopted and/or made compulsory across government
  • influence the work on standards so that open standards are considered before the creation of unique government or sector-specific standards

It makes decisions on whether standards recommendations:

  • meet user need and business outcomes
  • enable a level playing field for open source and proprietary software
  • are implementable, mature and supported by the market
  • have been adequately researched and that the impact of adoption is understood
  • are aligned with the Open Standards Principles and the Government’s IT/digital strategies

Meeting dates

The Board meets twice a year to review and challenge the recommendations made by contributors on GitHub. Other meetings scheduled during the year will be dependent on business needs and will be via correspondence.


The Open Standards Board consists of a selected group of industry, professional, developer and academic volunteers. The Board is supported by data and technology experts drawn from within and outside of government. Board members agree to the terms and conditions of membership.

Current members are:

  • Co-Chair - Linda Humphries, Founder, Paper Frogs Ltd
  • Co-Chair - Dan Bailey, Chief Technology Officer, Cabinet Office
  • Daniel Appelquist, Open Source and Open Standards Strategy Director, Snyk
  • Zaheda Bhorat, Head​ ​of​ ​Open​ ​Source​ ​and​ ​Strategy, Amazon
  • Amanda Brock, CEO, OpenUK
  • Matthew Dovey, Head of e-Infrastructure Strategy, Jisc
  • Kathy Farndon, Carbonel Consulting Ltd
  • Dr. Gobe Hobona, Director of Product Management, Standards, Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC)
  • Lucas Pardue, QUIC Working Group Chair, Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) and Senior Software Engineer, Cloudflare
  • Peter Parslow, Data Standards Lead and Principal and Geographic Information Architect, Ordnance Survey
  • Ed Parsons, Geospatial Technologist, Google
  • Simon Phipps, Managing Director, Meshed Insights Ltd
  • Anna Powell-Smith, Founder and Director, Centre for Public Data
  • John Sheridan, Digital Director, The National Archives
  • Dr. Jacqui Taylor, CEO and Co-Founder, FlyingBinary Ltd

Meeting minutes

Open Standards Board Minutes 7 July 2022

This file is in an OpenDocument format

Open Standards Board Minutes 16 February 2022

This file is in an OpenDocument format

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology.

Request an accessible format.
If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.

Open Standards Board Minutes 16 September 2021 (ODT, 24.5 KB)

Open Standards Board Minutes 6 June 2019 (ODT, 19 KB)

Open Standards Board Minutes 6 December 2019 with corrections in February 2020 (PDF, 164 KB, 7 pages)

Open Standards Board Minutes 22 November 2018 (ODT, 17.7 KB)

Open Standards Board Minutes 3 May 2018 (ODT, 20.3 KB)

Open Standards Board Minutes 20 June 2017 (ODT, 20.5 KB)

Contact details