Northumbria Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (RFCC)

The Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (RFCC) is a committee established by the Environment Agency under the Flood and Water Management Act 2010 that brings together members appointed by Lead Local Flood Authorities (LLFAs) and independent members with relevant experience for 3 purposes:

  • to ensure there are coherent plans for identifying, communicating and managing flood and coastal erosion risks across catchments and shorelines
  • to encourage efficient, targeted and risk-based investment in flood and coastal erosion risk management that represents value for money and benefits local communities
  • to provide a link between the Environment Agency, LLFAs, other risk management authorities, and other relevant bodies to build understanding of flood and coastal erosion risks in its area


Date of next meeting

Thursday 27 January 2022.

Members of the public and press are welcome to attend as observers. To attend a meeting or request copies of agendas and papers contact the Committee Secretariat at


If you would like a copy of the most recent agenda and/or papers, then please contact


The Northumbria Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (NRFCC) is seeking applications for two independent members. The independent members will hold specialism in industry finance, climate change, urban design and planning, civil engineering, or surface water. The independent members will ideally have knowledge of flooding and flood risk management. The Committee’s aim is to shape local flood and coastal management plans and help influence the future of the environment.

The Environment Agency is a diverse organisation which takes pride in welcoming applicants from all sections of the community. We welcome a diverse range of members bringing different experiences and viewpoints to the table.

As an industry finance, climate change, surface water, planning or civil engineering specialist you should be well-regarded in the sector and possess significant knowledge of relevant current issues in the area relating to flooding.

The Committee meets four times a year for RFCC meetings. Members may also be asked to take part in or chair the Programming and Investment Subgroup which makes recommendations on matters relating to programming and investment and the environment, or the Risk Management Subgroup which assesses and mitigates key risks to our programme. In addition, from time to time, RFCC members are asked to represent the Committee at other meetings and events.

If you are interested in joining the Committee and would like to apply this vacancy, please contact the NRFCC Secretariat via email at who will send you further information and an application pack.

Closing date for applications is 11:59pm on 15 April 2022, interviews are scheduled for 5 May 2022.

Committee members

Member Organisation
Phil Rothwell (Chair) Defra appointed
James Copeland Environment Agency appointee
Jim Cokill Environment Agency appointee
Ed Rollason Environment Agency appointee
Antony Braithwaite Environment Agency appointee
Stewart Rowe Environment Agency appointee
Cllr John Riddle Northumberland County Council
Cllr Mark Wilkes Durham County Council
Cllr Clare Penny-Evans Newcastle City Council
Cllr John McElroy Gateshead Council
Cllr Matthew Snedker Darlington Borough Council
Cllr Ernest Gibson South Tyneside Council
Cllr Carole Burdis North Tyneside Council
Cllr Greg Peacock Sunderland City Council
Vacant Hartlepool Borough Council
Cllr Julie Craig Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council
Cllr Mike Smith Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council
Cllr Barrie Cooper Middlesbrough Council

Contact details