National Security Council

The National Security Council (NSC) is the main forum for collective discussion of the government’s objectives for national security and about how best to deliver them in the current financial climate.

A key purpose of the Council is to ensure that ministers consider national security in the round and in a strategic way. The Council is chaired by the Prime Minister.

Structure of the NSC

The membership of the National Security Council, and any National Security Council Sub-Committees are available here.

Additionally there are associated cross-government senior official groups that support and inform these ministerial level structures. Principal amongst these is the Permanent Secretaries Group chaired by the National Security Adviser, Sir Tim Barrow. The National Security Adviser also acts as secretary to the NSC.

Other Cabinet ministers attend as required (ie depending on what the Council is discussing). Similarly the Chief of the Defence Staff and Heads of Intelligence Agencies also attend when required.