Ministerial advisory group on mental health strategy

The Ministerial Advisory Group brings together individuals and organisations with a specific interest in the cross government mental health strategy 'No Health Without Mental Health' and how it is delivered.


  • Val Huet (Allied Health Professions Federation)
  • Sola Afuape (Afiya Trust)
  • Terry Dafter (Association of Directors of Adult Social Services)
  • David Murphy (British Psychological Society)
  • Philip King (Care Quality Commission)
  • Barbara Rayment (Children and Young People’s Mental Health)
  • Sarah Brennan (Children and Young People’s Mental Health)
  • Matthew Hopkinson Department of Education)
  • Bill Gunnyeon (Department of Works and Pensions)
  • Rachel Perkins (Equality 2025)
  • Public Health England
  • John Aston (Faculty of Public Health)
  • Sarah Stewart-Brown (Faculty of Public Health and University of Warwick)
  • Dr Peter Connell (Faculty of Old Age Psychiatry)
  • Andy Barker (Faculty of Old Age Psychiatry)
  • Andy Bell (Future Vision Coalition)
  • Kathy Roberts (Future Vision Coalition)
  • Alison Rose-Quirie (Independent Mental Health Service Alliance)
  • Tim Hind (Local Government Association)
  • Patrick Fraher (Monitor) *Edward Davie (National Survivor User Network)
  • Jeremy Clarke (New Savoy Partnership)
  • Dr Martin McShane (NHS Commissioning Board)
  • Stephen Dalton (NHS Confederation)
  • Rebecca Cotton (NHS Confederation)
  • Dr Clare Gerada (Royal College of GPs)
  • Ian Hulatt (Royal College of Nursing)
  • Professor Sue Bailey (Royal College of Psychiatrists)
  • Dame Philippa Russell, DBE (Standing Commission on Carers)
  • James Taylor (Stonewall)
  • Lord Victor Adebowale (Turning Point)
  • Lucy Rolfe
  • Terence Lewis (Founder Patient Governance)
  • Jacqui Dyer
  • Julie Stone
  • Terry Parkin
  • Jon Bright


For previous minutes please go to the National Archives.

Terms of reference

  • To advise the Minister of State for Care and Support on issues relating to mental health across England, in the NHS, in Whitehall, and in local communities.

  • To share learning and good practice on areas related to the Mental Health Strategy.

  • To ensure that all stakeholder partners are informed and engaged in this area, including the general public, users of services, and carers.

  • To ensure that equality issues are given full consideration as part of thinking in relation to mental health strategy, as advised by the Equalities Working Group on Mental Health.

Ministerial advisory group on mental health strategy secretariat

Michelle Haywood/Debbie Goulding
MAG Secretariat
Department of Health
79 Whitehall
London SW1A 2NS