International Education Council

Role of the group

The International Education Council works to identify actions that will lead to a major increase in UK education exports. The council aims to meet 3 to 4 times a year.


The council is formed of senior stakeholders from across the education sector, including:

  • higher education
  • further education
  • schools
  • English language training
  • products and services
  • education technology
Council member Organisation
Co-chair: Jo Johnson MP, Minister of State for Universities and Science Department for Business Innovation and Skills (BIS)
Co-chair: Professor Dame Julia Goodfellow University of Kent and President of Universities UK
Nick Gibb MP, Minister of State for Schools Department for Education
Martin Doel Association of Colleges (AoC)
Sir Ciarán Devane British Council
Dominic Savage British Education Suppliers Association
Simon Lebus Cambridge Assessment English UK
Professor Colin Riordan Cardiff University
Chris Jones City and Guilds
Peter Horrocks CBE Open University
Rod Bristow Pearson
Professor Jane Elliott Research Councils UK
Alex Proudfoot Study UK
to be decided Schools representative
Council secretariat: Claire Durkin BIS

Terms of reference

International Education Council: terms of reference (PDF, 88.4KB, 1 page)

Minutes of meetings

Contact details