Hydrogen Advisory Council

The purpose of the Hydrogen Advisory Council is to inform the development of hydrogen as a strategic decarbonised energy carrier for the UK.

Through the Hydrogen Advisory Council, government and industry will work together to identify and promote concrete actions required to enable the supply of low carbon hydrogen at scale for use across the energy system, addressing near-term challenges and maximising opportunities for UK business in this rapidly growing area.

Role of the Council

The Council will be the primary forum for BEIS ministerial engagement with representatives from the hydrogen sector. The Council will consider the relationship between production and end use, including strategic considerations for where and when hydrogen is deployed, alongside coordination with potential demand volumes and cost implications.

The Council and any working groups will engage with existing industry and government led groups where the remit covers hydrogen or has implications for the development of hydrogen, to ensure alignment as required.


The Council is co-chaired by the Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, and Jane Toogood, Senior Chief Executive of Johnson Matthey.

Membership of the Council and its working groups will be reviewed periodically to ensure that it is able to respond to and support government in meeting its strategic objectives for hydrogen.

Name Role Organisation
  Secretary of State BEIS
Jane Toogood (co-chair) Sector Chief Executive  Johnson Matthey
Paul Bogers Vice President, Hydrogen Shell
Baroness Brown Offshore Wind Sector Champion  
Prof Nilay Shah Director, Centre for Process Systems Engineering, Head of Chemical Engineering Imperial College London
Jon Maddy Senior Lecturer/Hydrogen Centre Manager University of South Wales
Louise Kingham Head of Country, UK BP
Alex Grant UK Country Manager Equinor
Duncan Clark Head of UK Region Orsted
Richard Halsey Director of Capabilities Energy Systems Catapult
Chris Manson-Whitton Director Progressive Energy
Susi Wiseman Hydrogen and CCS Process Technical Authority Storegga Energy
Sam French Business Development Director Johnson Matthey
Steve Scrimshaw Vice President Siemens Energy
Graham Cooley CEO ITM Power
Buta Atwal CEO Ryze
Jim Mercer CEO BOC Linde
Andrew Doyle Executive Director Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group
Jonathan Brearley CEO Ofgem
Wouter Bleukx Hydrogen Business Director Inovyn
Chris Train Gas Goes Green Champion Energy Networks Association
Alistair Phillips-Davies CEO SSE
Katharine Palmer Global Head of Sustainability Lloyd’s Register Marine & Offshore Business

The Hydrogen Advisory Council also has observers from:

  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS)
  • Department for International Trade (DIT)
  • Department for Transport (DfT)
  • Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)
  • HM Treasury
  • Infrastructure and Projects Authority
  • Innovate UK
  • Ministry of Defence
  • Northern Irish Government
  • Scottish Government
  • Welsh Government


Terms of Reference (ToR)

Hydrogen Advisory Council: Terms of Reference (updated September 2022) (PDF, 169 KB, 3 pages)

Contact details