Future High Streets Forum

The national Future High Streets Forum advises government on the challenges facing high streets and helps to develop practical policies to enable town centres to adapt and change.

Role of the group

The forum brings together leaders across retail, property and business to better understand the competition town centres across the country face and to drive forward new ideas and policies.

The forum’s role includes:

  • helping to accelerate the programme of local mentoring established in response to the Portas review
  • advising the government how better use could be made of existing buildings, to bring preople back to live in town centres, increasing footfall and supporting shops
  • supporting the expansion of initiatives such as Love Your Local Markets and pop-up shops across the country
  • researching a practical toolkit to help town teams futureproof their high streets
  • exploring solutions to barriers like local parking policy


Name Position Organisation
Brandon Lewis MP (chair) Minister for High Streets, Town Centres and Markets Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG)
Alan Hawkins Chief Executive Officer British Independent Retailers Association (BIRA)
Brigid Simmonds Chief Executive British Beer and Pubs Association
David Fuhr Retail Unit Department for Business, Innovation & Skills (BIS)
Graham Harris Managing Director Dartford Borough Council
Graham Wilson Chief Executive National Association of British Market Authorities (NABMA)
Helen Dickinson Director General British Retail Consortium (BRC)
Hilary Hall Chief Executive National Hairdressers’ Federation
James Lowman Chief Executive Association of Convenience Stores (ACS)
Jane Pritchard Director Business in the Community (BiTC)
Jason Cotta Operations Director UK Costa Coffee - Whitbread
Joe Harrison Chief Executive Officer National Market Traders Federation (NMTF)
John Walden Managing Director Argos Ltd
Liz Peace Chief Executive British Property Federation (BPF)
Martin Blackwell Chief Executive Association of Town & City Management (ATCM)
Mary Portas Author, Portas Review Portas Agency
Michael Green Chief Executive British Council of Shopping Centres (BCSC)
Councillor Mike Haines Vice Chair Economy and Transport Board Local Government Association (LGA)
Mike Tye Chief Executive Spirit Pub Company
Neil McCourt Managing Director Tesco Metro Tesco
Professor Neil Wrigley Professor of Geography Southampton University
Paula Vennells Chief Executive Post Office Ltd
Peter Cross Communications Director John Lewis Partnership
Simon Roberts Chief Operating Officer Boots UK


Terms of reference


Help us improve GOV.UK

Please don't include any personal or financial information, for example your National Insurance or credit card numbers.