Expert Advisory Group on AIDS

The Expert Advisory Group on AIDS (EAGA) provides advice to the Chief Medical Officers of the health departments of the United Kingdom on matters relating to HIV/AIDS.


EAGA last met on 8 October 2014 and there are no plans to hold further meetings of this group.


  • Professor Brian Gazzard (Chair) (Chelsea and Westminster Hospital)
  • Dr Yusef Azad (co-opted) (National AIDS Trust)
  • Mr David Crundwell (Vice Chair) (lay representative)
  • Professor Jackie Cassell (Brighton and Sussex Medical School)
  • Dr Christopher Conlon (John Radcliffe Hospital)
  • Dr Annemiek de Ruiter (co-opted) (St Thomas’ Hospital)
  • Dr Matthew Donati (Public Health England)
  • Ms Ceri Evans (Charing Cross Hospital)
  • Dr John Green (Central & North West London NHS Foundation Trust and St Mary’s Hospital)
  • Professor Dame Anne Johnson (University College London)
  • Ms Ruth Lowbury (Medical Foundation for AIDS and Sexual Health)
  • Dr Helen McIlveen (Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Ms Beatrice Osoro (Positively UK)
  • Professor Andrew Phillips (co-opted) (University College London)
  • Dr Anton Pozniak (Chelsea and Westminster Hospital)
  • Dr Keith Radcliffe (University Hospitals Birmingham Foundation NHS Trust)
  • Dr Alison Rimmer (co-opted) (Northern General Hospital)
  • Dr Ewen Stewart (
General Practitioner)
  • Mr Paul Ward (co-opted) (Service user representative)

Members Code of Practice (PDF, 139KB, 10 pages)


EAGA agenda and minutes

Agendas and Minutes of EAGA meetings held since February 2014 are available from the Secretariat on request. Please see Contact details below.

For previous minutes please go to the National Archives website

Announcements and Publications

Terms of reference

The Expert Advisory Group on AIDS (EAGA) is a Departmental Expert Committee. First established in 1985, it has the following terms of reference: To provide advice on such matters relating to HIV/AIDS as may be referred to it by the Chief Medical Officers of the Health Departments of the United Kingdom.

EAGA Secretariat

HIV/STI Department
Public Health England
61 Colindale Avenue