Energy Innovation Board

The Energy Innovation Board provides strategic oversight of energy innovation programmes.

Role of the Board

The Energy Innovation Board is chaired by Dr Patrick Vallance, the Government Chief Scientific Adviser, and attended by senior civil servants across BEIS, Innovate UK, Research Councils, DCLG, Defra, DfID, DfT, Ofgem, and with HMT as observers.

The Devolved Administrations will also be invited to attend Board meetings on a regular basis, and other organisations may be invited to attend for specific topics.

The Board has the role of providing strategic oversight of public programmes on energy innovation. The Board’s role is to identify opportunities for enhanced collaboration on both UK and international energy innovation priorities, while funding decisions for individual programmes remain within the remit of their respective Departments or organisations. The Board builds on the work of the LCICG and replaces it, to provide an even greater opportunity to collaborate at a strategic level.

Terms of Reference

Energy Innovation Board - Terms of Reference

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.

Minutes of the Energy Innovation Board

Minutes of the Energy Innovation Board will be published shortly.


Energy Innovation - The government’s energy innovation programme and guidance to apply for available funding.

Contact details