Energy Efficiency Taskforce

[Withdrawn] The Energy Efficiency Taskforce was established to support a step change in the reduction of energy demand through accelerated delivery of energy efficiency across the economy.

This page was withdrawn on 25 September 2023

The Energy Efficiency Task Force has been disbanded.


The taskforce will advise and work with ministers on delivery of the government’s ambition to reduce total UK energy demand by 15% from 2021 levels by 2030, across domestic and commercial buildings and industrial processes. The taskforce will have a particular focus on the role of the private sector and the stimulation of investment. Its priority areas of focus will include:

  • stimulating the supply chain to address and increase investment, reduce skills gaps, accelerate pathways to accreditation, improve product manufacturing capability, and increase the wider availability of materials required to deliver high quality upgrades at pace
  • identifying barriers and opportunities in existing market and regulatory frameworks to delivering the demand reduction ambition in a way that works for business, consumers and society in order to inform policy decisions
  • increasing consumer, public sector, and business engagement in the delivery of existing and new initiatives on energy efficiency and clean heat. This may include addressing the lack of consumer take-up or behavioural change and high attrition rates
  • working with the private sector to increase the availability of green finance linked to installation standards and quality
  • tackling different installation challenges and embedding the need for standards across differently funded markets (considering recent tragedies highlighting the risks in domestic settings)
  • working with DESNZ to gather, monitor and respond to data that shows progress towards the 15% demand reduction target

Read the full Terms of Reference.


Lord Callanan and Alison Rose DBE are co-chairs with shared overall responsibility for the taskforce and its outputs.

The co-chairs are supported by a Steering Group made up of expert members drawn from the energy efficiency, clean heat and industrial process sectors alongside wider delivery bodies, business, academia, non-profits, local authorities, and the housing sector:

  • David Thomas, Chief Executive Officer, Barratt Developments
  • David Halpern, Chief Executive Officer, Behavioural Insights Team
  • Graham Bell, Chief Executive Officer, B&Q
  • Mitesh Dhanak, Chief Executive Officer, Cenergist
  • Laura Sandys, Chair, Government’s Energy Digitalisation Taskforce
  • Professor Will Swan, Director, Energy House Laboratories at University of Salford
  • Emma Pinchbeck, Chief Executive Officer, Energy UK
  • Dr Rhian-Mari Thomas, Chief Executive Officer, Green Finance Institute
  • Michael Liebreich, Chairman and CEO, Liebreich Associates
  • Stephen Phipson, Chief Executive of Make UK
  • Adam Scorer, Chief Executive Officer, National Energy Action
  • Sir John Armitt, Chair, National Infrastructure Commission
  • Carl Ennis, Chief Executive, Siemens plc
  • David Postings, Chief Executive Officer, UK Finance
  • Simon McWhirter, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, UK Green Building Council

Notes of meetings

We will publish notes of the taskforce meetings here.

Energy Efficiency Taskforce Steering Group: Meeting 4, 19 June 2023 (PDF, 91.1 KB, 1 page)

Energy Efficiency Taskforce Steering Group, Meeting 3, 17 May 2023 (PDF, 111 KB, 1 page)

Energy Efficiency Taskforce Steering Group, Meeting 2, 18 April 2023 (PDF, 159 KB, 1 page)

Energy Efficiency Taskforce Steering Group, Meeting 1, 15 March 2023 (PDF, 156 KB, 1 page)