Digital Economy Council and Digital Economy Advisory Group

The Digital Economy Council and Digital Economy Advisory Group bring government and the tech community together to implement the UK Digital Strategy.

Digital Economy Council membership:

  • The RT Hon Oliver Dowden CBE MP - chair

  • Caroline Dinenage, Minister for Digital and Culture
  • Julian David, TechUK
  • Bill Kelleher, IBM
  • Debbie Forster, Tech Talent Charter
  • Doug Gurr, Amazon
  • Wendy Tan White, BGF Ventures
  • Cindy Rose, Microsoft
  • Calum Smeaton, TV Squared
  • Saul Klein, Local Globe
  • Ronan Harris, Google
  • Juergen Maier, Digital Catapult
  • Emma Cheshire, Dotforge
  • Reshma Sohoni, Seedcamp
  • Eileen Burbidge, Tech Nation
  • Nicola Mendelsohn, Facebook
  • Phil Smith
  • Nick Bray, Sophos
  • Dom Hallas, Coadec
  • Julian Ashworth, ITV
  • Professor Helen Margetts, Oxford Internet Institute
  • Paul Fellows, Performance Horizon
  • Olly Benzecry, Accenture
  • Claire Thwaites, Apple
  • Sabby Gill, Sage

Digital Economy Council: Terms of reference

The Digital Strategy set out government’s ambition to develop a world-leading digital economy that works for everyone. Digital businesses are crucial partners in achieving this.

In her foreword to the Strategy, the Secretary of State said that Government and industry had worked together to prepare the Strategy and that a new industry forum would “ensure our relationship continues to flourish”. The Digital Economy Council is this forum.


The aim of the Council is to drive progress on the implementation of the Strategy in the areas where the expertise and reach of members can have the greatest impact. The Council will also play an important role in bringing government and industry together to develop a Digital Charter that will ensure the UK is the best place to start and grow a digital business, and the safest place to be online. It will identify opportunities, set strategic priorities and lead work streams to take this work forward.

Ways of working

In order to maximise its impact, the Council will focus on a set of clearly defined work streams, each of which will run across a set number of meetings. It will adopt a task and finish approach, with a sub-group of members (drawn from the Council and Advisory Group) examining an issue in detail and making recommendations back to the rest of the Council.

The Council will be chaired by the Secretary of State and will meet on a quarterly basis. Members of the Advisory Group will attend Council meetings as dictated by the agenda.


The Digital and Tech Policy Directorate in DCMS will provide the Council’s secretariat. It will manage the agenda, arrange meetings, and commission and quality assure papers.

Digital Economy Advisory Group

Digital Economy Advisory Group membership

  • Matt Warman MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for Digital
 and Broadband)
  • Matthew Gould, Director General for Digital and Media, DCMS
  • Liam Maxwell, National Technology Adviser
  • Hadrian Baumann, Samsung Electronics UK

  • Alice Bentinck, Entrepreneur First

  • Emily Brooke, Blaze
  • Derek O’Carroll, Brightpearl
  • Jaya Chakrabarti, TISCreport/Nameless

  • Vivian Chan, Sparrho
  • Philip Colligan, Raspberry Pi

  • Sherry Coutu, Scale Up Institute

  • Tom Dawes, Valuechain

  • Nicole Eagan, Darktrace
  • Warren Fauvel, Nudjed

  • Trevor Graham, Ampliphae
  • Gerard Grech, Tech City UK
  • Richard Gregory, Tech North

  • Michael Hayes, Rookie Oven

  • Vicki Hearn, Nominet Trust
  • Brent Hoberman, Founders Forum

  • Kristo Kaarmann, TransferWise

  • Stuart Marks, L Marks
  • Calum Paterson, Scottish Equity Partners
  • Yonatan Raz-Fridman, Kano Computing
  • Simon Segars, ARM
  • Jo Twist, Ukie
  • Marc Warner, ASI Data Science

  • Azmat Yusuf, Citymapper

Digital economy Advisory Group: Terms of reference

The Digital Economy Advisory Group is an engagement forum for Government and the digital sectors.


Where the aim Digital Economy Council is to drive progress across the whole Digital Strategy, the Advisory Group will focus specifically on pillar three of the Strategy, namely supporting the tech sectors and innovation. As part of this, it will look at the challenges and opportunities presented by Britain’s exit from the European Union. Further, the Advisory Group will consider those aspects of the Digital Charter which are particularly relevant to the digital sectors. The membership is drawn from across the digital sectors to encourage diverse perspectives and innovative thinking.

Ways of working

The Advisory Group will meet on a 6-monthly basis and will be chaired by the Minister of State for Digital.  In addition, where a member of the Advisory Group’s area of expertise is relevant to the agenda of the Digital Economy Council, they will be invited to attend specific meetings. Members of the Advisory Group will also contribute to the work streams that emerge from the Council.


The Digital and Tech Policy Directorate in DCMS will provide the Advisory Group’s secretariat. It will manage the agenda, arrange meetings, and commission and quality assure papers.