DCMS College of Experts

The DCMS College of Experts is made up of 49 external experts from across academia and industry and will provide a mechanism for the department to access external expertise and guidance.


  • Prof Kalina Bontcheva - Research Professor in Text Analytics at the Department of Computer Science, the University of Sheffield

  • Ghislaine Boddington - Creative Director, BDS Creative Ltd / Reader in Digital Immersion, University of Greenwich

  • Dr Orian Brook - Chancellor’s Fellow in Social Policy

  • Prof Marco Cinnirella - Professor of Applied Social Psychology

  • Yalena Coleman - Director of Applied Data & Technology, Connected Places Catapult

  • Lizzie Coles-Kemp - Professor of Information Security

  • Prof Tom Crick - Professor of Digital & Policy and Deputy Pro-Vice Chancellor (Civic Mission) at Swansea University

  • David Crozier - ​​Head of Strategic Partnerships and Engagement at Queen’s University Belfast’s Centre for Secure Information Technologies (CSIT)

  • Prof Rowan Cruft - Professor of Philosophy, University of Stirling

  • Dr Kate Dommett - Senior Lecturer in Politics, University of Sheffield

  • Prof Martyn Evans - Faculty Pro Vice Chancellor Arts & Humanities, Manchester Metropolitan University

  • Dr Michael Evans - Research Lead - User Experience, BBC R&D

  • Dr Daisy Fancourt - Associate Professor of Psychobiology & Epidemiology, University College London

  • Dr Matthew Forshaw - Senior Advisor for Skills, The Alan Turing Institute and Senior Lecturer in Data Science, Newcastle University

  • Prof Jonathan Freeman - Academic Lead Knowledge Exchange and Professor of Psychology, Goldsmiths, University of London

  • Martin Hamilton - Futurist at MartinH.Net Un Limited

  • Dr Luke Hebbes - Director of Business Information Security, London Stock Exchange Group

  • Prof James Hetherington - Director of the Advanced Research Computing Centre at University College London, UCL

  • Prof Angus Hunter - Professor and Head of Sports Sciences at Nottingham Trent University

  • Prof Catherine Johnson - Professor of Media and Communications, University of Huddersfield

  • Prof Chris Johnson - Pro Vice Chancellor, Queen’s University, Belfast

  • Prof Athina Karatzogianni - Professor in Media and Communication, University of Leicester

  • Prof Lucy Kimbell - Director, Social Design Institute at UAL

  • Andrew Laird - Managing Director Mutual Ventures

  • Dr Sandra Leaton Gray - Associate Professor of Education, UCL Institute of Education

  • Prof Michael Luck - Professor of Computer Science, King’s College London

  • Dr Ewa Luger - Chancellor’s Fellow (Digital Arts and Humanities)

  • Prof Sarita Malik - Professor of Media and Culture, Brunel University London

  • Dr Sarah Mills - Reader in Human Geography, Loughborough University

  • Dr Bill Mitchell OBE - Director of Policy at Chartered Institute for IT

  • Derek McAuley - Professor of Digital Economy, University of Nottingham

  • Lawrence Munro - Global Head of Innovation at NCC Group

  • Dr Oonagh Murphy - Lecturer of Arts Management, Institute for Creative and Cultural Entrepreneurship, Goldsmiths, University of London

  • Prof Tim O’Farrell - Chair Professor in Wireless Communications, The University of Sheffield

  • Dr Amy Orben - Programme Leader Track Scientist, MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit, University of Cambridge

  • Prof Adrian Palmer - Professor of Marketing, University of Reading, Henley Business School

  • Dr Charlotte Perfect - Telecoms Analyst

  • Prof Mark Parsons - EPCC Director, The University of Edinburgh

  • Prof Stephanie Pitts - Professor of Music Education, University of Sheffield; Director, Sheffield Performer and Audience Research Centre

  • Prof Jonathan Sapsed - Professor of Innovation and Entrepreneurship, Newcastle University Business School

  • Mr Stephen Smith - The College of Policing and Sport Psychology Ltd

  • Prof Catherine Tackley - Head of Music, University of Liverpool

  • Dr Mark Taylor - Senior Lecturer in Quantitative Methods, University of Sheffield

  • Prof Melissa Terras - Professor of Digital Cultural Heritage, University of Edinburgh

  • Prof Marian Ursu - Professor of Interactive Media, University of York and Director of Digital Creativity Labs

  • Prof Ben Walmsley - Professor of Cultural Engagement, University of Leeds; Director, Centre for Cultural Value

  • Dr Edgar A. Whitley - Associate Professor (Reader), Department of Management, London School of Economics and Political Science

  • Prof Simeon Yates - Professor of Digital Culture / Associate PVC Research Environment, University of Liverpool

  • Prof Noa Zilberman - Associate Professor, Department of Engineering Science, University of Oxford

Terms of reference

DCMS College of Experts - Terms of Reference (PDF, 73.1 KB, 2 pages)

Conflicts of Interest

Conflicts of interest as provided by the members of the College of Experts.

DCMS College of Experts - Conflicts of Interest (PDF, 130 KB, 8 pages)


The College of Experts will increase the department’s access to scientific networks and broaden its evidence base, identify key areas of research interest for the department and bolster the provision of scientific advice.

The members of the college have been selected through an open and fair process to provide comprehensive expertise in support of DCMS’ portfolio and sectors and can be called upon dynamically to bring external expertise into all aspects of the department’s policy work. The college supplements existing relationships with experts, allowing the department to benefit from longer term, ongoing, systematic relationships that provide easier access to expertise when needed.

The college will support teams and be called upon to:

  • participate in working groups based on specific themes that feed into the Department’s Areas of Research Interest
  • provide ad hoc advice and support to policy and analytical colleagues where appropriate;
  • support the CSA by offering extended expert/scientific networks that can help guide and shape policy.

The College of Experts is made up of external experts from across academia and industry and is managed by the DCMS Chief Scientific Adviser (CSA) team. The CSA team is led by the Chief Scientific Adviser for DCMS, Prof Tom Rodden.

Contact details