Committee on the Medical Effects of Air Pollutants

Committee on the Medical Effects of Air Pollutants (COMEAP) advises the government on all matters concerning the health effects of air pollutants.

Role of the group

COMEAP provides independent advice to government departments and agencies on how air pollution impacts on health. Its members come from a range of specialist fields such as air quality science, atmospheric chemistry, toxicology, physiology, epidemiology, statistics, paediatrics and cardiology. There is also a lay member, who helps ensure that the general public can access and understand the committee’s work.

COMEAP current work programme (PDF, 141 KB, 5 pages)

COMEAP protocol for reviews (PDF, 148 KB, 2 pages)

Terms of reference

At the request of the Department of Health to:

  • advise the UK health departments on the effects on the health of both outdoor and indoor air pollutants on the basis of data currently available

  • assess the need for further research

  • liaise as necessary with other government bodies to assess the effects of exposure and associated risks to human health

Code of practice

COMEAP code of practice (PDF, 71.9 KB, 9 pages)


Current members are:

  • Professor Anna Hansell, Chair (Professor of Environmental Epidemiology, University of Leicester)
  • Dr Suzanne Bartington (Clinical Associate Professor in Environmental Health, University of Birmingham.)
  • Mr David Birchby (Associate Director – Environmental Economics, Logika Group)
  • Professor Martin Clift (Biomedical Sciences, Swansea University)
  • Professor Francesco Forastiere (Visiting Professor, School of Public Health, Imperial College London)
  • Professor Roy Harrison (Queen Elizabeth II Birmingham Centenary Professor of Environmental Health, University of Birmingham)
  • Professor Mathew Heal (Chair of Atmospheric Chemistry, University of Edinburgh)
  • Dr Mike Holland (Freelance consultant in economic assessment of environmental policies) (co-opted member)
  • Professor Klea Katsouyanni (Professor of Public Health, Imperial College London)
  • Dr Haneen Khreis (Senior Research Associate, MRC Epidemiology Unit, University of Cambridge)
  • Professor Duncan Lee (Professor of Statistics, University of Glasgow)
  • Dr Matthew Loxham (Principal Research Fellow, University of Southampton)
  • Dr Mark Miller (Senior Research Fellow, University of Edinburgh)
  • Dr Ian Mudway (Senior Lecturer, School of Public Health, Imperial College London)
  • Mrs Rosie O’Carroll (Lay member)
  • Mr Tom Parkes (Lay member)
  • Professor Gavin Shaddick (Pro Vice-Chancellor, and Head of College of Physical Sciences and Engineering, Cardiff University )
  • Mr John Stedman (Air Quality Analysis and Policy Support Knowledge Leader, Ricardo Energy and Environment) (co-opted member)
  • Dr Abigail Whitehouse (Senior Clinical Lecturer, Queen Mary University of London)

Current associate members are:

  • Dr Dimitris Evangelopoulos (Research Fellow, Imperial College London)
  • Dr Rob Ferguson (Senior Lecturer, University of Essex)
  • Dr James Milner (Associate Professor, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine)

COMEAP declaration of members' interests (PDF, 205 KB, 12 pages)


Read minutes for COMEAP meetings

Read agendas for COMEAP meetings

Minutes from previous meetings are held on the National Archives website.

Open meetings

COMEAP holds open meetings to increase the visibility and transparency of its work. To attend a meeting as an observer, you will need to send a COMEAP open meeting application form (MS Word Document, 57.4 KB) to the secretariat and follow the COMEAP code of conduct for observers (PDF, 20.7 KB, 2 pages).

Forthcoming meetings

  • Thursday 20 June 2024, 9:30am to 1pm
  • Wednesday 20 November 2024, 10am to 4pm

Read COMEAP discussion papers


COMEAP reports.

Previous publications are held on the National Archives website.


Contact COMEAP through the secretariat at the UK Health Security Agency (UKHSA).


In any correspondence, please reference the COMEAP website.

COMEAP Secretariat
Centre for Radiation, Chemical and Environmental Hazards
OX11 0RQ