CCUS Council

The purpose of the CCUS Council is to review progress and priorities on carbon capture, usage and storage (CCUS). It is also the primary forum for engaging the CCUS sector on CCUS issues.

Role of the Group

The purpose of the CCUS Council is to review progress of the government’s new approach to CCUS, its new ambition and the commitments made in the Clean Growth Strategy. The CCUS Council is the primary forum for engaging the CCUS sector on discussing and addressing key strategic issues to enable the government’s ambition for CCUS to be achieved.

The Council will:

  • advise on CCUS progress and priorities as set out in the government’s new approach to CCUS
  • review the work of the CCUS Cost Challenge Taskforce and the government’s implementation of the CCUS Cost Challenge Taskforce’s plan delivered to government (once published)
  • monitor CCUS costs and deployment potential (including on the government’s ambition for deploying CCUS at scale during the 2030s)

CCUS Council: Terms of Reference

The CCUS Council replaces the CCS Development Forum.


The CCUS Council is co-chaired by Kwasi Kwarteng, the Minister of State for Energy and Clean Growth, and James Smith, former chair of The Carbon Trust.

Members are appointed to provide advice on a wide range of issues impacting on the development and deployment of CCUS.

CCUS Council members

Name Position Organisation
Kwasi Kwarteng (Co-Chair) Minister of State for Business, Energy and Clean Growth BEIS
James Smith (Co-Chair) Former Chair Carbon Trust
Sinead Lynch UK Country Chair Shell
Peter Mather Group Regional VP, Europe BP
Stephen Bull SVP Wind and Low Carbon Solutions Equinor
Allan Baker Global Head of Power Advisory & Project Finance Societe Generale
Charlotte Morgan Partner Linklaters
Colin McGill Low Carbon Appraisal Manager (BP) OGCI Climate Investments
Paul Booth Chair Tees Valley Local Enterprise Partnership
Ed Syson Director of Safety and Network Strategy Cadent
Frank Aaskov Senior Energy, Climate and Environment Adviser Make UK
Rodney Allam   8 Rivers & NET Power
Laura Sandys Chief Executive Challenging Ideas
Fiona Wild VP Sustainability and Climate Change BHP
Brad Page CEO Global CCS Institute
David Reiner Senior Lecturer in Technology Policy Cambridge University
Dustin Benton Policy Director Green Alliance
Luke Warren CEO CCS Association
Stuart Haszeldine Director Scottish CCS
Jonathan Brearley CEO Ofgem
Audrey Gallacher Interim CEO Energy UK
Hywel Thomas Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research, Innovation and Engagement Cardiff University
Tom Shields Acting Chair Chemical Sciences Scotland Industry Leadership Group
Fintan Slye Director of UK System Operator National Grid
Will Gardiner CEO Drax Group
Philip Hemmens SVP, Northern Europe Eni UK
Mike Cooper Lead Country Manager Exxon Mobil

The CCUS Council also has observers from The Crown Estate, The Crown Estate Scotland, Oil and Gas Authority, HM Treasury, Scottish Government and Welsh Government


CCUS Council: 6th meeting, 1 April 2020 - summary (PDF, 163KB, 7 pages)
CCUS Council: 5th meeting, 20 June 2019 - summary (PDF, 111KB, 6 pages)
CCUS Council: 4th meeting, 21 March 2019 - summary (PDF, 223KB, 7 pages)
CCUS Council: 3rd meeting, 15 November 2018 - summary (PDF, 142KB, 7 pages)
CCUS Council: 2nd meeting, 14 June 2018 - summary (PDF, 185KB, 6 pages)
CCUS Council: Inaugural meeting, 29 January 2018 - summary (PDF, 119KB, 4 pages)

Contact details