Anglian Eastern Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (RFCC)

The Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (RFCC) is a committee established by the Environment Agency under the Flood and Water Management Act 2010 that brings together members appointed by Lead Local Flood Authorities (LLFAs) and independent members with relevant experience for three purposes:

  • to ensure there are coherent plans for identifying, communicating and managing flood and coastal erosion risks across catchments and shorelines
  • to promote efficient, targeted and risk-based investment in flood and coastal erosion risk management that optimises value for money and benefits for local communities
  • to provide a link between the Environment Agency, LLFAs, other risk management authorities, and other relevant bodies to engender mutual understanding of flood and coastal erosion risks in its area.



The Environment Agency always welcomes expressions of interest for membership on the Anglian (Eastern) Regional Flood and Coastal Committee. The Environment Agency is a diverse organisation which takes pride in welcoming applicants from all sections of the community.

If you would be interested in joining the Committee in future, please contact our team on: and we will advise you when future vacancies appear.

Meeting dates

  • 16 October 2020


If you would like more information on the upcoming meeting or would like the details to join the meeting please email us

Minutes of meetings

Members of the public and press are welcome to attend as observers. To attend a meeting or request copies of agendas and papers contact the Committee Secretariat.

Committee members

Member Organisation
Paul Hayden (Chair) Defra appointed
Tim Beach Environment Agency appointee
Rob Wise Environment Agency appointee
June Clare Environment Agency appointee
Richard Powell (Conservation) Environment Agency appointee
Graham Underwood Environment Agency appointee
Andy Smith (Coastal representative) Environment Agency appointee
Jane Burch Environment Agency appointee
Kelly Whittington Environment Agency appointee
Councillor Simon Walsh Essex County Council
Councillor Mike Steptoe Essex County Council
Councillor John Aldridge Essex County Council
Councillor Mark Platt Essex County Council
Councillor Richard Rout Suffolk County Council
Councillor Keith Patience Suffolk County Council
Councillor Andy Grant Norfolk County Council
Councillor Judy Oliver Norfolk County Council
Councillor Peter Wexham Southend on Sea Borough Council
Councillor Gerard Rice Thurrock Council


Please contact Mareth Bassett on:

Telephone: 03708 506506 Email:

RFCC Secretariat Officer Eastern
Iceni House
Cobham Road

Contact details