Agri-food Technology Leadership Council: membership

The Agri-food Technology Leadership Council provide insight and leadership to improve the food and agriculture sectors.

The Agri-food Technology Leadership Council is made up of senior figures from across industry and academia. They specifically oversee implementation of the agri-tech strategy.

The council was previously called the Agri-tech Leadership Council.


Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs minister (to be confirmed).

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy minister (to be confirmed).

Judith Batchelar, Director of Sainsbury’s Brand.


Robert Allen, research manager at Greenvale AP.

Dr Tina Barsby, CEO, NIAB.

Allan Barton, Director at Arup.

Professor Ian Boyd, Chief Scientific Adviser at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

Professor Ian Crute, formerly chief scientist at AHDB.

Sue Davies, strategic policy adviser, Which?

Jim Godfrey, Chairman, Innovate UK’s Sustainable Agriculture and Food Innovation Platform and Member of Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC).

William Kendall, Non-executive Director, Wheatsheaf.

Dr David Lawrence, Non-Executive Director, Syngenta.

Dr Ruth McKernan, Chief Executive, Innovate UK.

Ian Noble.

Graham Ramsbottom, CEO of Wheatsheaf.

John Shropshire, CEO, G’s Group.

Professor Geoff Simm, Vice Principal (Research) at Scotland’s Rural College.

James Townshend, CEO, Velcourt Group PLC.

Steven Walker, Director-General at Campden BRI.

Professor Robert Webb, School of Biosciences, University of Nottingham.

Contact details