Advisory Committee on the Safety of Blood, Tissues and Organs (SaBTO)

The Advisory Committee on the Safety of Blood, Tissues and Organs (SaBTO) advises UK ministers and health departments on the most appropriate ways to ensure the safety of blood, cells, tissues and organs for transfusion/transplantation.


  • Professor James Neuberger (Chair)
  • Professor John Cairns (Health economist)
  • Dr Paul De Sousa (Regenerative medicine specialist)
  • Mrs Gill Hollis (Patient representative)
  • Mrs Catherine Howell (Nurse)
  • Professor Richard Knight (Prion disease specialist)
  • Professor Alison Murdoch (IVF/fertility/stem cell specialist)
  • Professor Richard Tedder (Microbiologist/bacteriologist/virologist)
  • Dr Lorna Williamson (Blood Service Medical Director)
  • Dr Stephen Thomas (Blood Service Manager)
  • Dr Susan Brailsford (Epidemiology Public Health)
  • Dr Lynn Manson (Haematologist)
  • Dr Akila Chandrasekar (Tissue Transplant)
  • Dr Charles Newstead (Transplant Physician)
  • Dr Rachel Hilton (Transplant Physician)
  • Mr James Powell (Solid Organ Transplant)

Member biographies (PDF, 434KB, 6 pages)

Terms of reference

Terms of reference (PDF, 24.8KB, 1 page)

Code of Practice

SaBTO Code of Practice (PDF, 316KB, 14 pages)

Members’ interests

Register of members' interests (PDF, 227KB, 5 pages)


SaBTO meeting papers and minutes from September 2012 on-wards

Minutes before September 2012


SaBTO Donor Selection Working Group

  • Chas Newstead (Chair)
  • Su Brailsford (epidemiologist)
  • Alison Murdoch (fertility specialist)
  • Stephen Thomas (NHSBT Operations)
  • Akila Chandrasekar (Tissue specialist)
  • Ines Ushiro-Lamb (Microbiologist)
  • Alan Kitchen (NHSBT, NTMRL)
  • Gail Miflin (NHSBT Associate Medical Director- Blood Supply)
  • Stephen Field (WBS Medical Director)
  • Dr Anne Slowther (Ethicist)
  • Prof Eamonn Ferguson (Clinical Pyschologist)
  • Prof Richard Gilson (Genito-urinary medicine specialist)
  • Dr Moira Carter (SNBTS Care and Selection of Donors)
  • Elaine Miller (Thalassaemia Society)
  • Alex Phillips (Terence Higgins Trust)
  • Ruby Lake TBA (Patients Association)
  • Yusef Azad (National Aids Trust)
  • Matthew Hodson (LGBT Consortium) (Tom Doyle cover)
  • John James (Sickle Cell Society)

Minutes and papers

SaBTO Donor Selection Working Group minutes and papers


  • Rowena Jecock
  • Jonathan Graves (DH)
  • Gary Mallinson (NHSBT)

Remit and terms of reference

Remit and terms of reference (PDF, 138KB, 2 pages)